1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

I am confused.. please help...

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by Allie, Apr 12, 2010.

1. Allie

Allie New IL'ite

Dear ladies,

I had posted my problems with my ILs some days ago... (I am working against their wishes.. and me and my child are staying with my parents during the week and going to ILs place during weekends) and received some good advice... Now I am trying to follow that advice.. but I am confused how to go about it....

I thought and read about my problem (my MIL is very abusive whenever I go to IL's place) and felt that the best solution is for us (me, DH and child) to stay separately in the same city.. so that we can take care of ILs whenever they need us and still retain some freedom..this could also take care of their complaint that I am not a proper wife to DH.. I am not cooking for him etc...

The problem is that ILs are constantly complaining about their health, age etc... and putting emotional pressure on DH that they cannot manage alone...If I insist that we move away, I become the evil person, separating their son from them.. If I shift to their house, they will not allow maid for housework or babysitter for my child.. so I cant go for a job.. (it is too far for my child to commute to my parents house from my ILs place everyday ).

How do I convince my DH that we need to stay away from ILs for sometime in the week at least? He feels bad when they abuse me but after some time he changes his mind and says his parents are old and weak and cant manage without us etc.I understand his concern but I am not able to handle this mental torture...I had clearly told them before marriage that I love my work and I dont want to stop working after marriage.. Seeing and hearing all that abuse from ILs has only made more scared to give my job and independence....
    But if something happens to them after we leave, then will he blame me for the rest of his life?