1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Husband does not want to share account details?

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by stronglady2013, Aug 20, 2013.

1. stronglady2013

stronglady2013 Silver IL'ite

Hi everyone,

I need your valuable suggestion on this issue.

A little background about it..

I am a working as a Software Engineer, my husband and I do have joint account and our all salaries goes to the same account.
    Well, call me stupid or anything but I do not have any access to this account. Recently, I casually asked him to share the account details with me so that I could go through the finances and wants to see how is he handling. Whenever I ask, he starts shouting at me and says why do you want to see it and gets irritated and very upset over it. who is telling you to do this and blaming my family that they are provoking me against him. I find his accusations very illogical and I have started to feel something is not good there(I do know that he does not have any bad habit). If there was nothing hide he should have shared the details with me.
    Is it a big red flag I am ignoring? What would you advise me on this?
    Thanks so much :)

2. sweetshreya

sweetshreya IL Hall of Fame

Did you really use these words? That was beyond being naive :bonk Come up with a suitable excuse. Say you want to invest or change insurance or buy a car or something. Or patiently wait till next tax season. You will have valid excuses then :)

5 people like this.
  3. tashidelek2002

tashidelek2002 IL Hall of Fame

Get your own account. I personally believe NO woman should have joint accounts and should ALWAYS handle her own finances. Simple account transfers can be used for sending money into a joint account for running the house, etc.

13 people like this.
  4. Gauri03

Gauri03 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame