1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

How to make egoistic and stubborn husband care for my feelings?

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by mollygolightly, Aug 20, 2012.

1. mollygolightly

mollygolightly New IL'ite

This is my first time posting to IL, hope some kind soul here can help me out of my misery. A few words about my husband - he is very egoistic. He has plainly mentioned many times during fights that this relationship is not important to him and that we are unequal partners, that I care for him and the marriage more than he does for me. He never apologizes after a fight, never says sorry even for all the mean, hurtful things he says in anger. It is always me who has to end the fight, by crying and pleading with him to be normal.

Now I think that was my big mistake. He always acts as if he is 100% right and I am wrong, I am like a child that he has to discipline. There is nothing he has done wrong that could cause my unhappiness. He does not care when I am upset or hurt by him. I am currently suffering a lot because of this. Recently I tried to change my behavior of crying and pleading during fights and instead decided to remain quiet and thus let him know that I am upset. It has been almost 10 days, but he has still not cared to ask what is wrong with me. He has just shut up and carrying on with his life, eating out and coming late.

My question is: how to change him so that he becomes more caring? Can I make him give up his ego and give importance to the marriage? How to deal with such people? The silent treatment does not work, nor does crying. Please advise.

Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
    1 person likes this.

2. brb_va

brb_va Gold IL'ite

You are the best judge, now that its hi-time that you need to decide on this relationship. He is definitely not going to change. All your efforts will prove futile. How long have you been married?

3. mollygolightly