1. Want to be a Positive Parent? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

How Do Working Mothers Teach Their Kids

Discussion in 'Schoolgoers & Teens' started by bhavi855, Dec 4, 2018.

1. bhavi855

bhavi855 New IL'ite

Hi all
    I am a working mother ..I work in IT mostly reach home by 6:30 pm but nowadays getting late because of office work. My daughetd is in senior kg now and in ICSE school...
    I am hearing from lot of PPL whichever school you put parents have to sit and teach kids otherwise it is difficult...

I am worried now with my timings whether I will be able to support my daughter in studies...everyday an hour or two is impossible because after traffic and all I reach home it is close to her bed time by 9pm..I have a younger son also...

I don't want to lose focus on kids..coz I should not regret later that I did not spend enough time with kids and their studies..

2. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

Who is taking care of them whenyou are at work, commute ?
    Don't leave your job. Pay extra to some person or school to take care of kids for afterschool programs/lessons.
    Have you talked to older girls at work about their kids ?
    Talk to a 10 year old of a colleague who never taught, or helped the child in her/his homework classwork. Does that child behave like s/he been raised by wolves (like Mowgli from the Jungle book) ?

3. Lakshmikishore

Lakshmikishore Silver IL'ite

Dear OP,

I am also working mother in IT and generally reach home by 7PM.I will try to put how I take care of my DS studies who is in 3rd Std now.

Phase 1 : KG to 1st Std:
    1.Home work
    Daily I used to check whether he completed his homework or not.DS used to do his homework in after school care.
    Never forced him to complete his homework if it is not done in after school care,I used to let him play

2.Exams/tests
    Never bothered much about his slip tests/periodic assessment marks/grades