How do pregnant women cope

Discussion in 'Indians in the UK' started by dubbi, Jun 22, 2011.

1. dubbi

dubbi Bronze IL'ite

A big hello to all of you,

I am Deepa and I was a very active member in the Pregnancy forum as I am a birthing professional who lived in Chennai till Feb. I recently moved to Hemel Hempstead which is in Herts, Greater London. I was wondering how pregnant women from India manage here. Do you go to childbirth classes? If so How was the experience? Were you able to get all your doubts and fear cleared? Culturally so many issues are different!!!

How about your delivery and breastfeeding experience? Were you able to get a doula and breastfeeding help?

I am thinking of maybe setting up some pregnancy & breastfeeding support for women mainly the sub continent, so wanted to know any info or feedback.

Would also love to interact and get to know you guys here on a more personal basis and life in a foreign country!!! I am here bcoz my husband is doing a senior level MBA program in Ashridge Business School , Berkhamsted. I have 2 kids aged 9 and 7 who have started enjoying school here but still terribly miss their grandparents, friends and their school in Chennai.

Cheers
    Deepa

2. Wise

Wise New IL'ite

Hi Deepa,

Hope you are liking your stay here in the UK.