High BP during pregnancy

Discussion in 'Pregnancy & Labor' started by chaitanya01, Jun 12, 2010.

1. chaitanya01

chaitanya01 Senior IL'ite

Hi Friends,

Im in my 11th Week of my Pregnency., but my BP is 130/85. Doctor has told that my BP is at higher side.,

Doc, has told me to go for a 2nd scanning in another 3 weeks, so that she will come to know the growth of the Fetal.

I need your valuable advice to get my BP normal.

Please friends advice meeeeeee., im a bit tensed about my BP. except BP, every thing is normal for me.

2. rv8

rv8 Gold IL'ite

Dear Chaitanya,

RELAX!! First of all, hearty congrats on your pregnancy..

Your tension is only going to increase your BP... Stay calm first and keep telling yourself that everything is alright and your baby is going to be just fine.. :thumbsup

I have no first hand knowledge about high BP during pregnancy, but the following tips can definitely help you out, no harm in trying..

1. Reduce the salt intake. This is very much a common first step in case of high blood pressure.

2. Do not eat pre-packed, processed food. Food items like Pizzas, pickles, burgers, fries have a lot of salt and oil, so it is better to avoid them as much as possible during the pregnancy.

3. Come back to the first word of my post.. Relax! Try listening to mild music. If you are a spiritual person, listen to lot of devotional songs that calms your mind and body.

You can also try meditation; it works wonders..

Hope this helps.. Stay positive, be happy and enjoy your pregnancy! :thumbsup

3. satin

satin Silver IL'ite

First of all congrats on your pregnancy!

Dont panic,I had high BP too(150/90 on 2 readings) and hence was taking tablet,I also had GD and still had a normal delivery and a very healthy baby.