1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Heat or Dust : Lawyers Will be There

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Navaljee, Sep 16, 2008.

1. Navaljee

Navaljee Senior IL'ite

[​IMG]

I am a lawyer. And I think it is my first hand right to say something about lawyers. Though it is unwritten rule that only a lawyer would write about the lawyers, as we hardly allow others to speak, especially against us. Before I say anything North and South, let me tell you that people really love us. They like us. And on many occasions they prefer us to others. I think you would not believe this one. OK. Here is one proof of it.

Once a gentleman was asked. “Suppose you are with Adolph Hitler, a hungry tiger, and a lawyer. And you are given a gun with two bullets in it. Then whom will you save?”

The Gentleman immediately replied, “I will shoot the lawyer twice.”

That’s pity. Ours is the age of misunderstandings. You know, people have several misconceptions about our tribe. They say that the advocates take huge fees and they make money as fast as the hungry bullocks eat grass. Don’t believe in such rumors. Everything is for misguiding the people, especially our potential clients. We are straightforward people, very straight and very forward. Though our uniform is of dark color, we hardly keep our clients in dark. We, the lawyers, talk directly and we like clarity.

Take a page from the book of my own life. It was the day of my early practice. There came a bank manager in my office and talked about the cases to be filed by his bank.

“What will be your fees, sir?” He was a rational man.

“If you pay at a time it would be two lac thirty thousand. Only. And if you want to pay in monthly installments, it would be twenty installments of Rs. 12444.”

“Do you accept fees in EMI, too?”

“No. My car financier accepts so.”

Next week I had a new car. You know, the clarity works.