GenitalTuberculosis- Any chances of conception?

Discussion in 'Fertility & Trying to Conceive' started by kenny, Mar 30, 2011.

1. kenny

kenny Bronze IL'ite

genital tubercolosis....

hi ladies,
    i am really worried as im TTC and only lately decided we shud have a baby am already 30,due to some family issues i was avoiding pregnancy for some time.But i was getting a little erratic cyce offlate...so i consulted a gynae and she told me for a series of tests,in which ev thing came out normal except igm elisa for Tb.Tht was positive.The usual range is 0-1 and mine was 1.21 ,after 1 it is conisdered positive.
    This time i missed my periods,was v happy i thought that i am pregnant,so i did a home pregnacy test which came out negative :-( i was really hopefull.but unfortunately it was negative.
    Today i met the gynae,she told me to wiat for another week and check again.But at the same time told me if i have my periods i should give my menstrual flow blood sample to make sure i dont have tuberculosis of genital tract.i am very scared.i dont want to have this problem.She said since Igm is positive it can be tb ut its not confirmatory.But i really hope and wish i dont have any such thing coz i am already 30.She said there are no symptoms of it.:drowning
    I just wanted to check if any of u ladies have had a similar experience and if u have had similar problem detected then could you conceive?i am really upset since i have heard her.just want that i should not be detected for tb.i hope the test comes negative for it.please pray for me ...please...:cry:

Last edited: Mar 30, 2011

2. madhu18

madhu18 New IL'ite

Re: genital tubercolosis....

Hi kenny

When i was trying to conceive i already had TB , i was taking treatment.At the same time i conceived but what happend is i didnt realized that i am pregnant i had abortion at home . Doctor told me to be careful and chk every month even i have ireegular periods to check whehter pregnant or not.I did the same again concevied with in a month.I was on medication both for pregnancy and for TB upto 6mth of my pregnancy.Now-a-days its not a problem when we have expert doctors.so if u have tb ur ressistance will be low so take good food and becareful and try to be in doctors observation always.Hope u will have a good news soon :)

3. kenny

kenny Bronze IL'ite

hey thanx for ur instant replay madhu and ur words were so convincing.I am just tensed i have not been diagnosed with it rt now but have to uundertake that test.Hope it just comes negative.just wanted information about it thats why wrote down.But my dr also said the same thing that a female having tb has a tendency towards miscarriages,but she told me that if at all a female is detected with tubrculosis then she has to wait for at least 4-5 months to conceive when she is on medicines that is ATT.Im feeling very vulnerable.just hope all goes well...coz there are lot of other stresses too in my life.just hope i dont get this stress also..
    anyways thanx...do u suggest some herbal re remedy for it too?

4. kenny

kenny Bronze IL'ite

and one thing more.. during pregnancy the female is supposed to avoid all kind of medications as it affects the foetus....so u said u took medicnes for 6 months.is it heathy for the child??and can the child have a tb ??since the mother is suffering from it?pleas do help me...

5. madhu18

madhu18 New IL'ite

For me tb attached on the month of may so i was on treatment.At the same time we were planning so i wentt to gynae and told the same she said no problem as i dont have that much active tb but any how i have to complete my 6months treatment for that.In the month of sep 5,2005 i had abortion at home .Again i conceive in the month of november 2005 .I contiuned my treatment upto the end of december( its 4month of my pregnancy). I was showing the medicine to my gynae before i use , even my tb specialist were given the medicines by consulting some other gynaec.

6. kenny

kenny Bronze IL'ite

hey ILs :drowning please guide i am really tensed....

7. babelfish

babelfish Senior IL'ite

My husband and I have been tyring to conceive for 1.5 years+. Last year, we went to doc and she diagnosed me with PCOD. It came as quite a shock to us but she quickly put me on hormones (for ovulation and for good uterine line fomation). I did about 4 cycles along with a follicular study. I ovulated normally in all 4 cycles and also had a good lining formation but did not concieve. After these cycles, when we got a little worried with the lack of success the doc prescribed IUI. In the meanwhile, we also consulted another doctor who tested me for genital TB (TB PCR) which came out positive. This new doc put me on ATK 4 for the first 2 months, followed by ATK 2. I have already completed 4 months of treatment and have 2 more months to go.
    The doc had told us to start trying after 2 months of medication. We did try in the last cycle but were not succeessful. The doc has asked us to get Tubal study done in the 5th month of treatment which will then tell us if my tubes are harmed in anyway.
    Whatever I have read on the internet just saps me out of any hope which i may otherwise harbour. The chances of conception seem low. I also turned 32 this June so don't really have age on my side.

Wanted to understand if anybody has been able to conceive naturally or otherwise after being diagnosed with Genital TB. Also, what are the odds of tubal damage if the uterine lining tested positive?

Thanks for your help

Last edited: Jul 20, 2012
  8. Miami

Miami New IL'ite

Genital Tuberculosis

I have been detected with genital TB. Is anyone aware of this and can provide valuable inputs regarding the same.

Miami

9. divyashetty18

divyashetty18 Senior IL'ite

Re: Genital Tuberculosis

HI Miami,

I too am diagnosed with endometrial TB. I have to take medicines for 6 months then go for IVF. What did your doctor suggest.

Divya

10. vidyashankari

vidyashankari Platinum IL'ite

Re: Genital Tuberculosis

hai friend

there is another thread here posted almost one month back which was discussing tb related to pregnancy.please check tht.hope tht will help u.

take care

lots of baby dust to u