Frozen Fish?

Discussion in 'NonVegetarian Kitchen' started by Amica, Jul 10, 2016.

1. Amica

Amica IL Hall of Fame

My local Indian grocery store has a freezer full of fish these days. And DH thinks they should be on our menu.

Is it safe to buy frozen Indian fish in the US? If yes, which fish to buy and how to cook them?

Can the fish go straight from the freezer to the pot? or do I have to thaw them first?

Do they have to be cleaned? How?

I'm a total novice at this. All advice is welcome.

Thank you in advance.

2. KashmirFlower

KashmirFlower IL Hall of Fame

For this question, you should always thaw before cooking , otherwise it wont get cooked inside, and outside it will be overcooked. And thawing in the refrigerator (instead of counter top as it spoils fast) is good, take it from the freezer and put it in the refrigerator before night to cook.

answer to Your other questions, I never tried, let us see if anybody tried fish from Indian stores.

Amica likes this.
  3. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

My husband is the fish-eater, but I have never tried frozen fish from the Indian store. We buy from Trader Joe's: salmon, mahi mahi, wild cod, swordfish, Dover sole and tuna. He always thaws the fish in warm water before cooking, it only takes a few minutes. Then he either grills or pan-fries them and makes a butter sauce to put on top. Tuna works nicely on skewers for kebabs.
    However the fish freezer in the desi store gets regularly restocked so people are buying. The fish curry at our favorite Indian place is made with tilapia. If you buy filets they should be pre-cleaned and ready to use. I have never tried cleaning a whole fish.

Amica likes this.
  4. momsky

momsky Gold IL'ite

If you buy the frozen whole fish, most likely you will have to clean it unless it says so. My favourite are pomfret, red snapper, and bullet tuna for frying as whole. For fish fillet- basa, pollock, or sole.

Don't try tilapia, it always taste muddy.