Flower pot !!!

Discussion in 'Creative Crafts' started by Custard, May 24, 2010.

1. Custard

Custard Gold IL'ite

Hello Every one,

This is the work I had done for one of the "Fevicryl Hobby Ideas Contest" 2 years back!
    This is probably the first work I had done. Since they said, its Rs.1 lakh contest, I couldn't keep quiet! You see I'm a contest freak!!! :biglaugh

As a known fact, I dint win, but I learnt that I too could bring out something!

I would like to say that its not necessary to use wax. I also feel that it looks more good without it! I have just used it for Contest's sake :biggrin2:

FLOWER POT

MATERIALS FOR POT PREPARATION

Mud Pot (bowl shaped) 8” diameter ​
    Fevicol MR White Adhesive​
    Fevicryl All Surface Acrylic Colours - Orange & Dark Green​
    Fevicryl Crackle Medium​
    Fevicryl 3D Outliners - Pearl Yellow, Pearl Metallic Gold & Pearl Metallic Rust​
    Fevicryl Glass Etching Stencil GES-4​
    MATERIALS FOR FLOWER MAKING

Tissue Papers (Pink Colour) 22cm x 23cm - 30nos. (5 x 6)​
    Tissue Papers (Yellow Colour) 27cm x [FONT=Symbol, serif]30[/FONT]cm - 5nos.​
    Fevi Stik Glue Stick​
    Green Floral Tape, A pair of Scissors​
    Prime eezytear Clear Tape​
    Fevicryl Candle Making Kit​

OTHER MATERIALS

Fine Art Tecklon Hair Brush Flat No.7​
    Mixing Palate, Plastic Glass, Water​
    Sand Paper​
    Pencil, Safety Pin​
    Sponge - 4cm x 4cm x 4cm ​
    Double Tape​
    Waste Cloth, Newspapers​

POT PREAPRATION :

1. Soak the pot in water for six hours. Dry thoroughly.​
    2. Spread Newspapers on the working area. Use pieces of Sand paper and scratch the pot to get a​
    smooth surface.​
    3. Wipe off the dust with waste cloth and wash with water. Dry it.​
    4. Priming : Mix Fevicol MR White Adhesive & water in 1 : 1 ratio and apply all over the pot using ​
    flat brush. Dry for 30 minutes.​
    5. Mix Fevicryl All Surface Acrylic Colour - Orange with water in 1 : 2 ratio and apply all over the ​
    pot.​
    6. Pour Fevicryl Crackle Medium on the pot little by little and apply it in the horizontal direction.​
    Note : The coating should neither be thick nor thin.​
    Dry for 20 minutes.​
    7. Mix Fevicryl All Surface Acrylic Colour - Dark Green with water in 1 : 2 ratio. When touched ​
    the Crackle Medium should come as threads, then apply the colour in horizontal direction.​
    8. Cracks will appear. Dry for one hour.​
    9. Measure the circumference of the mouth of the pot with a thread and measure it in a scale. Divide it into ​
    four equal parts. Mark four points using pencil.​
    10. Place the Fevicryl Glass Etching Stencil on the outer side of the pot, by positioning (with ​
    respect to the pencil mark) the bottom design of the stencil and paste it lightly.​
    11. Draw the design with a pencil.​
    12. Remove the stencil carefully.​
    Note : An old used Glass Stencil was taken & pasted lightly, so it did not peel off the All ​
    Surface Acrylic Colours, when removed.​
    13. Draw the design using Fevicryl 3D Outliner - Pearl Metallic Rust.
    Note : If any mistake is made while making the design with 3D Outliner, use a safety pin to ​
    remove it immediately.​
    14. Make three more designs in the same manner, alternating with Fevicryl 3D Outliner – Pearl
    Metallic Gold.
    15. Draw double lines at the outer surface of the pot (at the top) with Fevicryl 3D Outliner – Pearl
    Yellow.
    FLOWER MAKING :

1. Take five tissue papers (pink colour) and line one over the other. Gently press with hands in the same direction.
    2. Hold two corners of the paper with both hands and go front & back to make folds, as done for ​
    making Paper Fans. Press firmly.​
    3. Fold that into half and stick the folded end with Fevi Stik Glue Stick.​
    4. Now, bring the outer layers from both sides together and stick.​
    5. Hold the base firmly to make the stem.​
    6. Holding the base tightly, separate the layers on top, by moving the middle papers to the centre ​
    and the papers at the circumference to the outside, to make petals.​
    7. Firmly wind the Green Floral Tape around the stem. Secure it with Prime eezytear Clear Tape at the end.​
    8. Repeat to make five more pink coloured flowers and one yellow flower.​
    9. Melt wax, from Fevicryl Candle Making Kit in the double boiler over hot water.​
    10. Dip the flowers, one by one (only petals) into the melted wax and shake off excess droplets of ​
    wax. Allow it to harden. Leave it for one or two days.​
    Note : Dipping in wax not only gives a translucent effect, but also hardens the petals, so that ​
    they don't get damaged.​

FINISHING :

1. Make a small hole at the centre of the sponge and insert the stem of the yellow flower into it.​
    2. At the base of the sponge, stick a piece of double tape and stick at the centre of the pot.​
    3. Stick small pieces of double tape for all the six pink coloured flowers at the junction of petals-stem.​
    4. Position the pink flowers around the yellow one and stick on the pot with the double tape.
    Side View.JPG

Comments Please !!!

Last edited: May 25, 2010

2. Pavithra55

Pavithra55 Gold IL'ite

hi custard
    your post is simply superb:thumbsup:thumbsup:thumbsup:thumbsup

3. Yashikushi

Yashikushi Moderator IL Hall of Fame

nice flower making with tissue.
    Its new..the dipping in wax.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Only thing the file gets 12 mts to open.If you have jpg please upload for easy access.And don't think most of them can't view .pdf format.

4. Custard

Custard Gold IL'ite

Hello Pavithra,

Thanks for coming with the first feedback!

5. Custard

Custard Gold IL'ite

Hello Yashikushi,

Thanks for the comments. I tried to change my file to jpg, I couldn't ! Can you please suggest some other option. I shall also try....

6. sandh

sandh IL Hall of Fame

hai custard very nice flowers and very detailed instruction .too many time taken to open that file .sandhya

7. Custard

Custard Gold IL'ite

Thanks for the feedback Sandh! Ya, I'm trying to load a smaller file.... will try to do it soon. Thanks for letting me know.

8. cakedecorater

cakedecorater Bronze IL'ite

Hi Custard.............nice flower pot.

9. Sudha Kailas

Sudha Kailas IL Hall of Fame

Custard, thanks for the detailed procedure and the lovely work of the pot !!
    It sure will help all of us especially beginners who are on the look out for pot crafting !!
    Well done my friend for your patient contribution !!!

10. pussy

pussy Gold IL'ite

Hi Custard,

Thanks for sharing the procedure.
    Your Flower pot looks toooooo good.