Fireworks

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Sep 6, 2007.

FireWorks

Yesterday evening as i was reading the comments and enjoying myself,fireworks were going on outside.Yesterday was a Saava, the auspicious day for marriages.I get very irritated with fireworks as they play havoc with my dog Tuffy,and the poor guy goes hiding inside the house.One day i want to leave Tuffy among those stupid drunk dancing Baratis,and make them run helter skelter.

For the Marwaris, Baraat makes sense.Marwaris officially dont drink,though they account for 50 % of the official consumption in Rajasthan.The guys who dance in the baraat,will only do so,if they are given whiskey to drink to get in the mood and for their limbs to loosen,and no wonder u watch them dance like zombies.

The Groom sitting on the Ghodi (Female Horse),with a small boy with him upfront,and the band and the dancers,all screw up the traffic.How can we blame them when their hearthrob Abhishek too sat on a Ghodi with a boy in front recently.I curse these guys when i am caught in the traffic,and wish Sanjay Gandhi was alive to sterilize these grooms.

Previously,in mumbai around 30 years back, there used to be an accountant of both sides,writing down the name and the amount,and hence there were no empty enveloppes,unlike today where at least half a dozen come in.Nowadays people are carrying bags to put in the envellopes.When I give the envellope, they will say, no no iski kya zaroorat hai, while I can see their pockets bursting at the seams with envellopes,and bags spilling over,but then they ultimately take it.It is embars\assing for both the giver and the taker.

In one Wedding we went,suddenly the lights went off, and fire works started for an hour at least,pitch dark,and the Bride was brought in a Doli,saw it first time.The food was so much,looking at it made my stomach full.At times so much food is wasted,i feel bad.

Once, we and a few friends with their families entered the wrong marriage hall.There were 3 in a row,and ours was the last,but we entered the middle one ,and sure enough Jaipur is a small place.We met someone known to us,and we started to drink the soft juice and fruit juices,till we realised we made a mistake.We were about to leave,when the host came and enquired what was the matter.We told him sorry,we have entered by mistake, we apologise,but he was so kind,he said it is our good luck that u have graced our funtion(this proves i dont look a mawali as i thought i do),and please eat and go,and he forced us to go with him to the food section.We had to literally beg of him to leave us.We all were very touched by his gesture,and i still think, what would i have done in his place.We sure have great people around.

A friend of mine and his wife are very fond of attending marriages.Once in their kitchen calender, i Found a few dates cancelled with Red Cross.I asked thelady what does that mean, she said those days there are marriages,and the kitchen will remain closed.And this lady first goes to the snacks counter and gorges all,forcing her kids to have too,while i stay away.I never eat,bcs firstly it is vegetarian stuff,which anyway i dont dig,secondly i need to have my drinks,so i go to the car,where my bar is ready,and with my friends have a few stiff ones,with jokes craking all around,its like a picnic for us grown up guys.I then meet some people say hi,show my face,and pick up wife and back home,wehre my nonveg is ready.So my envelope is really a waste,as i dont get value for it.So i just dont look forward as such to weddings,for me it is something that has to be attended thats all.

Now adays honemoons have become a talking point.I went to Banglore Mysore Oooty, and today the trend is Bankok,Malaysia or other such places.With a new wife,even Thane or Ulhasnagar is fine.You have to see the wife,what will u do with the location.Honeymoon is for the later,when the marriage is stale a little bit.But these are personal thoughts.

So guys and Gals, attend marriages as i am sure u all have been invited today and tommorrow being great marriage days,make sure you eat more than what u give in the envelopes,Get your money's worth.And dont forget to cross out the dates from your Calender.Sweat dreams and Burps,lucky Guys.

2. Shanvy

hi kamalji,

First fireworks..i am allergic to them..sulphur in them..i can enjoy only from a distance..

Marriages..those days..somebody used to keep track of the gift/blessings so that they would know what had come from whom and what should we gift back when there is a marriage in that family...

Some people out to showoff really go overboard on food.. and the wastage..i dont know how many are aware that they can call up orphanages and donate it..and believe me the food does not come cheap...

But i dont like to attend weddings..my husband is crazy to attend weddings..

3. Kamalji

Shanti,

Why u dont like weddings ? Dont u like to show off yr new sarees and jewllery ?Thats waht mnay women do, they look for marriages to attend these days.Just joking.

Well for me it is a pain to attend a wedding.Shave, polish shoes, wait for madam to get ready,and search for an envellope.And then to think what toput in.

Regards.kamal

4. Shanvy

hi kamalji,

I for one dont like silk sarees, somehow have a few because as a south indian you cannot escape. and yes i dont like much jewellery also. I really find it difficult to dress up for marriages. used to go dressed up to please mil/husband. but now have just started going as simple as possible. poeple do question, but i just say i am comfortable...:2thumbsup:

5. Cheeniya

Dear Kamalji
    I beg to differ with you!
    In a honeymoon, the place is as important as the new wife! How can you be as insensitive as to dare saying that Ullas Nagar is as good as any for the honeymoon? Ambience, my dear man, is the name of the game. Can the mundane places that you mention compete with the Flower Valley or the Tulip Fields of Europe in their ability to kindle romantic feelings?
    You may have the prettiest wife on earth which you may check with the Mirror on the Wall. You may have the best apartment in Mumbai. But a rickety house in the wilderness of Dalhousie certainly would give you that extra which makes all the difference and makes the honeymoon the most memorable occasion in your life!:-D

6. Chitvish

Dear Kamalji & Sri,
    I read both your accounts with great interest & "relish" !:wink:
    Well, I am "shy" to discuss openly, what interests a woman more during a honeymoon ! I cannot discuss threadbare, who is right? - perhaps, neither of you !!:mrgreen:
    A woman's point of view differs, Sir(s)!

7. Cheeniya

Dear Chithra
    Of which I have no doubt whatsoever! If a woman's feelings are not different in all these matters, life would be a pretty bore! Dont you know boys never read Mills and Boons? The difference starts there!

8. Shanvy

oh kamalji,

There is definitely fireworks here.

Chitra, I really am enjoying your subtle inbetweens here.

and sri,

who told you boys dont read m&b... they dont openly..but i have seen a few...reading them placed inbetween electronic and computer graphics text book.....The different starts with harold robbins and mill and boons. (sorry guys i am fan of harold but let me just add some to keep the works going.):mrgreen:

9. Cheeniya

Dear Shanthi
    As you yourself say, these may be few and they are traitors. A thoroughbred boy wouldnt read it and if at all he does, he would do so openly and not hiding it between his text books!
    Boys will be boys! Boyz!

10. Chitvish

Dear Shanti,

The following is strictly for you - it is a relief that Kamalji cannot read tamil & Sri, being a "much revered perfect gentleman" will not read it !

I just now read the following tamil poem, written by a woman Sugirtharani:
    நெருப்பின் தகிப்பை
    விழுங்கிவிட்டு
    ஈரமாய் உன்னை
    அணத்ததில்
    முளைத்தெழுந்தாய்.
    உன் வேர்கள்
    எனக்குள்ளும்
    என் சுவாசம்
    உன் நிழலுக்குள்ளும்
    நித்தமும்
    இளைப்பாறிக் கொண்டன.