Finest Post Nominations - May 2024

Discussion in 'Finest Posts of IL' started by Rihana, May 1, 2024.

Great surprise to see your nomination. Thanks very much

Rihana and Thyagarajan like this.
  2. Rihana

The forecast for May flowers is coming true much to my delight. We already have 10+ nominations and many of the nominations are seconded by multiple members.

About the British leaving India, it feels good sometimes to see how India calls the shots in world cricket. I have minimal knowledge of IPL format, but feels nice to see international players vying to play with India based teams, and mainly I guess for money.

Recently, some match was going on, I only hear the commentary if I pass by the TV ... I laughed out loud to suddenly hear a foreign commentator say a Hindi ad line, "Sabse naya, sabse bada". It is a fitting payback for the tickety-boo origin. Tickety-boo means "fine, OK" and is believed to have originated from the British Raj times when Indians in the military etc said, "Theek hai, babu" (it's alright Sir).

That the U.K. currently has a P.M. of Indian origin, or that India overtook the U.K. in GDP also feel good.

Why do I ramble? I don't know. It is Mother's Day and I reserve the right to? :grinning:

Back to the thread, it makes me very happy to see the nominations. I will be back soon after reading the nominated posts.

Cheeniya and Thyagarajan like this.
  3. Thyagarajan

This reminds me of cross culture.
    In undivided India i.e. Bharat.

A brahmin turbhaned head clerk clad in divided dhothi in English-men office was doing a gesture of respect and a British officer returning the respect by doing exactly the opposite of that gesture.
    Guess what they were doing.

4. Thyagarajan

Rihana and Viswamitra like this.
  5. Thoughtful

Thoughtful Gold IL'ite

I second this nomination. Not taking a decision is also a decision. Inaction is a negative action.

Thyagarajan and Viswamitra like this.
  6. Viswamitra

Viswamitra IL Hall of Fame

8. jayasala42

THANK YOU IYER VIJI AND THOUGHTFUL for considering my post worthy of nomination.

Jayasala 42

iyerviji and Thyagarajan like this.
  9. HariLakhera

HariLakhera IL Hall of Fame

iyerviji likes this.
  10. iyerviji