1. Want to be a Positive Parent? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

elementary school selection

Discussion in 'Schoolgoers & Teens' started by thenralpe, Sep 19, 2008.

1. thenralpe

thenralpe New IL'ite

Hi all,
    I am new to US and have a son going to kindergarten. We r trying to find a good school in Evansville, Indiana. Can someone give ur suggestion?

Also I have been seeing the statistics of schools(elementary). There seem to be expulsions for alcohol,drug at such a small age. My son faced a bullying problem once. Have any kids here in US faced problems?

Also how do I select a school? Should it be based on ethinicity, language,maths grades, safety rate?
    Please give ur suggestions.
    Thanks

2. Srama

Srama Finest Post Winner

Hi,

I did some googling and here is a link for schools in evansville.....Evansville schools – Indiana (IN) school district, public and private school reports

and thie site also gives you a good review of schools Greatschools.net Search: evansville

As far as the ratings are concerned, they are state wide I think and the over all rating of the school should be good...mostly based on how many kids actually graduate out ie., pass/fail percentage and the economic strata of the families living in a particualr school district is also a good indicator.

As far as expulsions, if you are referring to general statistics, do not worry about it. If this applies to a particular school you are looking at it...then do more research. Bullying is possible esp if the younger ones are riding with older kids - you need to keep an eye.

3. thenralpe

thenralpe New IL'ite

4. ramyanand

ramyanand Gold IL'ite

Hi
    My son is in KG this year..As srama mentioned i checked out the website greatschools.net and find out abt the ratings of our neibhbourhood school..But ratings do keep changing everyyear according to the performance of the kids in the school..