Down the memory lane to Ooty!! --Hairpin bend-- 3

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by SARASVADIVU, Mar 18, 2011.

1. SARASVADIVU

SARASVADIVU Silver IL'ite

Just as we had walked a few yards more, we saw an elephant, which also started walking towards us.

Alas! it took a few seconds for us to realize that it wasn't part of a herd ..but a LONELY single-tusker!

{Normally whenever I think of this incident ..I know not why..I start laughing like hell to the extent that my people used to wonder if something is wrong with me!!! So, for this post alone I'm choosing the humorous style of narration.I'm not good at this style..but for a change yaar!!}....

We all were just jolted out of our wits at the mammoth single-tusker who was looking at us ferociously, as if asking "Who the hell are you to trespass into my privacy??!"

All of us were urged by our guide to run back to the jeep.
    But..where??..
    ..only if our legs which were glued to the ground, could co-operate na!!

We stood there..'dumb dolls' waiting for some miracle to happen.

I'm sure the tusker and I had some ..what they call as..'previous birth connection'. :welcome
    Then..why will it..leaving out everybody else come to me???!
    (Later I was told that the colour white is to elephants ....as is red to bulls! :bonk
    thevaiya antha puthu white party-frock thaan poduvennu adampidachathu thevaiya unakku..)

I don't even know what had happened.
    When I opened my eyes--don't worry like the typical cinema heroine I didn't ask, "Naan enge irukken?"{Where am I?}
    Athellam sari..enna achchu..appadinu ketkiringala? (All that's fine..let us know what happened).

Ithu thannga nadanthathu....(This is what happened) please imagine if possible the flash-back tortoise coil:

I would always remain faithful to that cutie-pie, the lovey-dovey elephant calf, of this mammoth S.T.(ethanai thadavai thaan neeti nelichu single -tusker nu sollradhu????)

I'm sure all our prayers would have been heard. This cute little thing, suddenly emerged from somewhere and caught it's mom's attention. Like a good mother it's priority was to see to it's child....so it walked away in a huff, looking at me in a "Mavale....intha thadavai thapichite..adutha thadavai vachukiren" style.(This time you escaped....wait..wait..I'll catch you the next time).

"Naan enna muttala adutha thadavaiyum anga poga?" (I'm not a fool to go there again!?)

Jokes apart, my dad till date believes that the elephant-calf's name is "Saraswathi".
    I don't know about that.....neither do I want to question my father's belief.
    'Coz his belief always has that winning edge!!!!

What do you think?

2. priyaiyengar

priyaiyengar New IL'ite

Hi Saras,
    Cute single-tusker story.
    Priya

3. SARASVADIVU

Hi priya,

Thanx dear for dropping by!!

:cheers
    Saras

4. Lalitha Shivaguru

Lalitha Shivaguru Platinum IL'ite

Nice story Saras...

Enjoyed reading the same.

5. Malar2301

Malar2301 Gold IL'ite

Dear Saras...

That was an awesome narration. I know how you and your family would have felt that time...but still you way of making it humourous is good. I enjoyed it a lot...that too these lines

"
    I'm sure the tusker and I had some ..what they call as..'previous birth connection'. …

looking at me in a "Mavale....intha thadavai thapichite..adutha thadavai vachukiren" style.(This time you escaped....wait..wait..I'll catch you the next time).
    "

6. iswaryadevi

iswaryadevi Platinum IL'ite

Very nice Saras, loved your humorous narrative style :thumbsup

7. sreemanavaneeth

sreemanavaneeth Gold IL'ite

HAI SARAS

ELEPHANT STORY YE ELABORATE STORY YA EZHIDITTEENGA. VERY HUMOROUS WRITING.

I ENJOYED IT. KEEP FIGHTING AND MOVING WITH
    ANIMALS. ALL THE BEST.

NEXT TIGER OR LION.HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA MAVALE NEE
    SINGAM, PULI EVANGAKITTENTHUM CANNOT ESCAPE

I COULD NOT CONTROL MY LAUGH DEAR

8. Keerti16

Keerti16 Silver IL'ite

Nice ending:) Keep writing!

9. SARASVADIVU

Dear Lalitha,

:hiyaEn 'Lucky Mascot' aana unga kitta irunthu pona postukku (Pramod) commente varalaiyenu kavalai pattaen!!
    Thank God! ippa vanthathuku :bowdown

Unga varugai enakku oru cup boost maathiri ma.

Saras

10. SARASVADIVU

Dear malar,

Thanx pa ..

I'm extremely happy that you enjoyed reading this.

Saras