"Don’t get me a bad name at your ILs house!"-Help me with my next issue! :(

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by drnamshara, Jul 25, 2014.

1. drnamshara

drnamshara Gold IL'ite

Hi All..

Writing again to get all your views and a leaf from your experiences book.. If any.. and to vent ofcourse..

[My mom is an associate proff and academics coordinator at a top university and my dad is about to retire from the editorial team after his 32yrs service in a NIGHT SHIFT WORK LIFE at a regional Newspaper..and lil sis just got into an engineering job]

What surprises me is that no matter with how much equality the new-gen parents bring us up, without having the gender concept in their dictionary…this particular dialogue somehow happens to be quoted in bold and block letter in the first page of their thesaurus during our pre-wedding days…and I am sure this is kind of a common and one of the favourite Mommy dialogues towards the daughters: --> “Don’t get me a bad name at your ILs house”….

I used to always respond to mom saying "BLAH" until I finally realized its meaning when I started frequently hearing my MILs list of favorite counter dialogues being referred to me while speaking to her Sisters, my SIL or anyone :-

-->“It completely shows the kind of upbringing and the home environment this girl has”

-->“It completely shows how irresponsibly her mother has brought her up

--> “It is not sufficient to give education. Rather mothers need to teach and train their daughters that more important than education or career for girls is "IL house conduct" and how to behave with ILs….which this girl completely lacks. THANKS TO HER WORKING MOTHER

And then my thoughts go: WAIT. STOP. Did you just say that I am not up to your ignorant illiterate mark of how DILS should be JUST BECAUSE MY MOM IS A WORKING LADY?????????

WOMAN!!!
    1) DO YOU EVEN KNOW WHY AND OUT OF WHAT HELPLESS CIRCUMSTANCES SHE HAD TO CHOOSE A CAREER AND BACKUP DAD???

2) AND DO YOU KNOW THAT SHE HAS HAD A TOUGH TIME AT A DEMANDING WORKPLACE AND EQUALLY BALANCING HOME AND CHILDREN WITHOUT LEAVING ANY STONE UNTURNED???

3) AND WHY THE HELL DO YOU THINK MY DAD IS VICTIM OF MOMS DOMINANCE JUST CAUSE DAD IS A GEM OF A PERSON AND EQUALLY SHARES WITH MOM ALL THE HOUSE WORK AND CHILD CARE RESPONSIBILITIES????

You say You and FIL sacrificed everything and so much to give good life to my DH and SIL.

ARE YOU THEN CONCLUDING THAT MY PARENTS DINT DO SACRIFICES TO BRING ME UP AND RATHER LET ME LIVE ON FOOT PATH JUST BECAUSE THEY ARE WORKING PARENTS????

I AM WHAT I AM. FINE OR FOLLY. AND AS I LIVED AWAY FROM HOME FOR A DECADE I MAY NOT BE PERFECT AT HOUSE WORK.. SO DON’T BLAME MY PARENTS IF I DON’T KNOW ANYTHING!! :bang

AND IF YOUR UPBRINGING IS ALL SO PERFECT THEN WHY DOES SILs INLAWS HAVE SO MANY ISSUES WITH HER?????

OH OH ohhhh..i forgot…when it comes to SIL her inlaws infact are the bad people!!!!…they ill treat her despite her being 'oh so perfect'.
    Thanks to your sacrificial perfect upbringing???????????

HOW I WISH I COULD SCREAM MY LUNGS OUT AT YOU FOR PUTTING MY MOM DOWN.
    Witsend

Ladies…What do I reply to this woman…. :bang
    Please help me frame my replys…
    if I don’t retaliate to these harsh words against me mom,
    I will feel I am letting down my parents by being silent….

I wanna firmly and politely give her a piece of mind!!!!! :rant

HELLLLPPPPPPPPPPPPP.....:help

Last edited: Jul 25, 2014

2. guesshoo

guesshoo IL Hall of Fame

I would say, with eye contact. "stop! Don't you dare talk badly if my parents. They are immensely better human beings because I haven't once heard them talk ill of others so baselessly." Then leave the room to do something I enjoy.

Another one one I have used is, a stare followed by, "I have been taught to respect people who deserve the respect by treating me with respect. There is no reason for someone as highly educated and employed as me to take this nonsense from anyone." Then leave the room to do something I enjoy.

Also so talk about your family with pride. Talk about them being so much more forward thinking and broad minded than others who are just petty and pointlessly mean. Most importantly, HER bad behaviour is no reflection on you or your parents. She chooses to be an unpleasant bully. And shame on her.

In my case, there was a lot of loud protest to begin with. I showed nothing but disgust and disdain. Once a neighbour came when MIL was being a cow and asked what was going on. I just gave a wan smile and said, "Some people just don't know how to be dignified." while totally not doing what MIL was expecting me to do.

The point is this. I can do anything for the person who is being polite. Any impolite word or order, even if it is "Ey! Bring me water!", I would just not oblige. I've said, "Ask me in a proper tone and I can do it. Otherwise, you can get it yourself." When you don't budge, defend yourself politely and directly call on their bad behaviour, they mellow down. At least they don't mess with you.

3. TheUnhappyWife

TheUnhappyWife Silver IL'ite

Hi OP, first of all, please don't get so agitated and worked-up. You come across a person with strong feelings and a strong sense of equality and because you see an unequal society, it irks you no end. It reflects even in the font that you write. Be calm. And yes, there's no need for you to mention your parents' profession in an anonymous forum - saying this for the protection of your anonymity. We will believe you even otherwise.
    Coming to your point of abuse by MIL where she abuses your parents esp mother, I have some replies.
    Say with a sense of pity - Ohho ohho, looks like someone is burning in envy, right ? In Hindi it would be like "kuchh jalne ki boo aa rahi hai sasoo ma. Kabhi aapne noukri kiya nahi, ghar se bahar nikali nahi, paise kamaye nahi, toh jalan toh hogi na! "My mother has her own identity, which you lack, so you are jealous".

"You were at home, but look at your son's sankaras. Look at him, he did this, he did that" i.e "Aapke bete se toh acche hi sanskaar hain" in Hindi

"Hey, looks like someone is in the 18th century. Mom, do you want to be teleported into the Mughal Era" ? or "Mothers need to teach both sons and daughters, and my mother did this job well. You bother only of what you did". "IF you say something, that doesn't become the gospel truth".

You can reply sarcastically like the above or like GuessHoo suggested - pointblank and plain. Take your pick. I never advocate 'talking back' or 'replying back' to elders/In-laws unless it comes to your parents, in which case, you should. Nip it in the bud before it becomes too late. There is a lot of bitterness in you, better to take it out like this.

Last edited: Jul 25, 2014
  4. FromMars

FromMars Gold IL'ite

OP,
    I can hear your anger.

But giving back to your MIL is not your answer.

Let the steam out somewhere else. Come back with a calm heart and a clear mind and try to understand not the words that are coming out of her mouth, but the intent that is coming out of her heart.

Tit for Tat might help you let out steam for a brief second. But you will have to handle the backlash. You need better thought and patience.

Just 'cos she says that your parents are not good, doesn't make them so. Also, she is judging your parents through you. More than talking ill of your parents, they are scrutinizing you. Why? Think about it.

( I am in no way saying there is anything wrong with you. I am simply saying that instead of focussing on the symptom, find the underlying disease which is coming out through the symptom and treat the disease, not the symptom )

5. FromMars

FromMars Gold IL'ite

I should have read your other thread before getting some context. You are the Washing Machine girl.

Like I tell in all threads about in-law issues, its more an issue of your spouse than in-laws. What role does he play in all this? Why is he not fixing it?

6. chillbreeze

chillbreeze Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

@Gueshoo...I admire you so much for taking control of your life and not letting ils ruin it. Wish I have a copy of all your replies so that I can go through them and gain strength from your words when needed. Just one question though. Like FromMars mentioned, I can't see my mil talking normally to me again if I give her any such replies you mentioned. How did you deal the aftermath with your mil. This will help not only me but a lot of other people as well.

7. anika987

anika987 Finest Post Winner

unfortunately whether the mom is working or not,MIL's will find a way to drag the gals parents! that is the sad fact!

Also,if ur mom was not working,Iam sure she will find some other reason to insult u and your family.

If u take me,I have a brother for whom we are looking for an alliance:)
    I am already a dil to a mil like urs! So either way,I am a dead meat for being a SIL and a DIL:)It is a very very sad state to be caught between both.Only girls with brothers will understand.

Anyways,no matter what I say is ur MIL is being very unreasonable in talking to u like this.Tell her that u would appreciate if she did not drag your parents in every conv and that it is a rude thing.I can totally relate to u and it hurts so bad:( I hope ur MIL gets the point.

8. Nd123

Nd123 Gold IL'ite

OP,

Anger, especially the helpless type that you exhibit is more harmful to you than anyone else. Society is really irrelevant. It is filled with all kinds of people. People like you and people who harass their in laws and every shade in between. What you do is what matters.

Instead of fuming in silence, speak out. Ask her to shut up or ignore her and face the consequences. You don't need fancy comebacks or tricks. What you need is an attitude change.

Your problems are not society's fault. It is caused by your desperate need for approval. So she is going to say that you have no manners or that you are a bitch.

You are not a kid in the playground. You are a grown women who is a doctor for God's sake. Get over it. Part of being an adult is to accept that some people do not like you. So grow up, be an adult, get a spine and ask her to shut up.

What are you really scared of? What can she do to you? Scream at you, insult you, insult your parents, have your husband scream at you, what??

You are obviously smart. Stop and think about what scares you/ hold you back.

I am sorry if my response seems to be over simplifying things but it works for me. I may not have a great relationship with my in laws but we are respectful to each other.

9. sunshine1970

sunshine1970 Gold IL'ite

Hi Chillbreeze I also for a while have been following Guesswho advice and I will tell you from my perspective what is in store. She will stop talking to you-be prepared for this she will turn FIL and SIL and other members against you and she will try to osterize you. Stand tall and ignore and keep moving forward. She will also try to fill your DH ears. If that does not work then she will begin yelling and complaining about petty things and you just don't take the bait, smile and walk away. I did this and it was sheer torture the amount of abuse she through at me, but I did not care, my DH was sometimes on my side sometimes not I did not care. Now she is so mad she says we have to move out and we are. Who won in the end I did, with the Grace of God. Who wanted to live there anyways, she told DH that she can't stand me so he said we have to leave and I'm like ok- just be prepared for awkwardness and abuse- and just walk by it. Then no one can blame you and she will continue to throw tantrums and will escalate and then DH will take note of what a freak she is being.

10. chillbreeze

chillbreeze Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Thanks Sunshine...so essentially we need to be strong and develop a thick skin as well. Will work towards it.

OP, guess you too should start doing that instead of letting your mil and your fear of mil control your life.friendssmiley