1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Does this make sense ??

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by hopefulforbest, Jan 11, 2010.

1. hopefulforbest

hopefulforbest New IL'ite

I am new to this forum. A friend of mine suggested this forum.
    i have been married for three years now. was active , intelligent, good student. got married and came to us 3 yrs back. been living with in laws and dh for initial 2 yrs of marriage. faced many struggles and then got a job in another state. its 2.5 hrs away from the state we live in. DH and me decided to take the job and since i am not experienced decided to take a chance. the salary goes to a joint account of which i have no access. too much controlling and i had to fight to get credit card. otherwise just used to give me a 100$ for month expenses. i fought back got a credit card(joint account), debit card and cheques.(all r joint accounts). salary gets automatically deposited to that account.then my inlaws started fighting for the money i get from fields. i retaliated but they put a meeting and during the course of discussion i was trying to put my foot firmly down that i need that money and wish it to be in a separate account of mine. i then listed all the possibilities of my insecurity and what i was feeling. my fil started raising and kept telling me iam not being a proper dil and should give in all the money without asking a single word of it. all the jewels, my sarees everything in their control. they called my parents during that discussion and my mom in fury just said a bad word on my mil. im not allowed to call my parents becos these people think they are the source of all fights but they are not. im only fighting back bcos i feel insecure. im not allowed to talk to parents, not allowed to goto India, not allowed to be free with friends, shldnt call anyone.they got all the money from my parents.