1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Does a middle born child gets sandwitched between first and last born?

Discussion in 'Parents & Siblings' started by Flora1, May 27, 2010.

1. Flora1

Flora1 New IL'ite

Hi I am a middle child out of three girls. I have read and heard many times that the middle one
    gets sandwitched between the first and last child. Do you agree?

As for me, My Dad loves all 3 of us but somewhere down the line he is more attatched to his first born daughter.
    It is also evident many times cause he only remembers and tells examples of her achievements, behaviour etc.
    (even if they are minor or small) , but he never mentions anything about me or my other sister's big achievements also.

Is it normal? Should I ignore it like I have done till now or should I talk to him about it?

2. radhaparth2000

radhaparth2000 Platinum IL'ite

I have no experience as we are just two. But few of my friends share the the same opinion like you.

3. tikka

tikka Gold IL'ite

Flora, I do believe there is something to the middle child syndrome theory. The Making of My Middle Child - On Parenting
    I am a middle child and yes, the first and the youngest are a lot more pampered than I ever got. But the good thing to this is, I am a very independent and a free thinker, made all my decisions for myself even those that my parents do not notice at first.
    In my mid 30s, I can say that being a middle child has been a blessing in disguise for me. Dont let your parents ignoring your achievements bother you. You need to prove you are the best, only to yourselves, actually.

4. APassionateOne

APassionateOne New IL'ite

Flora..who are you? are you my sister? Yes..we are all girls and our middle sister has (better to say 'had' similar complaints). At that time, as the older one, I couldn't understand her complaint, when my parents see all of us same.