Diwali

Discussion in 'Festivals & Special Days' started by Amanda, Oct 16, 2007.

1. Amanda

Amanda Guest

My name is Amanda. I am a preschool teacher. I have a child in my class that is from India and I would like to some how celebrate Diwali. Also to teach the other children in my class about the festival. All I know is that it is the festival of lights. If any one can give me some ideas on what I can do that would be wonderful.

Thank you all so much

2. Mythraeyi

Mythraeyi Silver IL'ite

Hi Amanda,

I think it is really nice of you to want to celebrate Diwali with your students and make the Indian child feel welcome. Typically diwali celebrations in India revlove around making and eating sweets, bursting fire crackers, lighting lamps at home, wearing new clothes and going out to meet friends and family. For your class you could explain the various celebrations and ask the kids to draw pictures of them. If it is possible they could make diyas (small earthen lamps) out of playdough and decorate them. They could also draw and color rangolis (designs usually made on the front doorstep of a home). you could also have an 'Indian food' theme for lunch that day and have your students bring in an Indian dish.

Hope you have fun with your class and let us know how it goes..

Mythraeyi

3. sujathae

sujathae Senior IL'ite