1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Difference of opinions - What should i do?

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by lavanya_28, Jan 24, 2009.

1. lavanya_28

lavanya_28 Silver IL'ite

Hi All,

I am Lavanya and i stay in the U.S. with my husband and 3 year old daughter. I am in a strange situation at present and request everyone of you to give me your advice. I am married to my husband for 4 years and during the first year of my marriage i became pregnant with my daughter who is 3 years now. I never got time to spend with my husband alone and never had a chance to get to know him fully . Before we got married (arranged marriage), we got to email each other and at that time he told me that he wanted to return to India after 5 years. I told him that i was fine with that because i did not know anything about the U.S. lifestyle and the people here. Now he wants to go back to India this year itself. I am doing my Masters in Accounting and will be completing it this year. I do not want to go back to India so early as i want to work here for sometime. We have a good Indian community at our place and we meet every Friday to chant Vishnu Sahasranamam. We also have Balasatsang for kids so that they can learn slokas etc. I am so much in love with this community and do not want to leave this place. How much ever i try to tell him, he is not willing to change his decision? I also feel that my daughter will have an opportunity to become something in life. In India, education is so hard and with so much reservation it is very difficult to get an admission in a medical or engineering college. I feel i should not deprive her of those facilities which are available here in the U.S.
    Whenever we start to talk about this, it just goes into a terrible argument and we are not able to come to a compromise.