Culinarians Day Special - International Cuisine with a Desi Touch Contest - July 2011

Discussion in 'Topic of the Month - Contest' started by IL_Admin, Jul 1, 2011.

1. meerajesh59

meerajesh59 Gold IL'ite

Re: Culinarians Day Special - International Cuisine with a Desi Touch Contest - July

Sindhu your dish looks yummy. You started the contest with a sweet.. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

2. shameel

shameel Silver IL'ite

Re: Culinarians Day Special - International Cuisine with a Desi Touch Contest - July

Hai IL Friends,
    My PASTA recipe in desi way
    MACRONI[as we called it]
    Ingredients:
    11/2 medium sized onions
    2 medium sized tomatoes
    200gm chicken with bones[can also use mutton/keema/prawns]
    11/2 cup Pasta{any one variety}
    2-3 tbsp of oil
    1 tsp Ginger Garlic paste
    10-12 mint leaves
    Few chopped coriander leaves
    1 tbsp curd
    1/4 tsp each turmeric and garam masala powders
    1/2 tsp dhania powder
    11/2 tsp red chilli powder[adjust accordingly]
    salt to taste
    METHOD:
    Heat oil in a small pressure cooker, add chopped onions and fry till it is slight brown in colour then add Ginger Garlic paste fry for just 2 mins then add chicken pieces, turmeric, and little salt and saute well. Now add chopped tomatoes, garam masala powder, and red chilli powder and fry well for 5 mins then add beaten curd and cook till oil separates from masala add pudina leaves and chopped coriander leaves, then add 5-6 cups of water[the variety we get in uae gets more time to cook so i use more water, but in india i think it gets cooked in less time so adjust water accordingly] and let it boil then add pasta and little salt and stir continuously for 3 minutes then close lid keep on medium flame till 13-15 whistles[for indian variety may be less whistles like 4-5, it should be soft and done ] and put off flame. Open lid and check moisture is more then dry it. Garnish with chopped coriander leaves. Serve with lemon or mango pickle. Try and enjoyyyyyyy......

:thumbsupShams.

3. spuppala

spuppala Gold IL'ite

@sindhu nice presentation dear wish you the best
    @shams vow it looks yummy dear..all the best

4. spuppala

spuppala Gold IL'ite

Hi Admin,
    You have mentioned to select any two in the first sentence..
    does this mean we can use any two of the items to make a single recipe?

5. sindhunambiar

sindhunambiar Bronze IL'ite

Thanks Meena and spuppala for going through my recipe. Thought of making a sweet beginning:)
    Sindhu

Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
  6. Geethasrinivasa

Geethasrinivasa New IL'ite

My receipe:

PASTA PARUPPU USILI - SOUTH INDIAN STYLE

iNGREDIENTS:

Toor dal - 1 cup
    Red chilli 6 Nos.
    Salt
    Asafotida
    Pasta

Method:

Soak toordal with chilly for an hour. grind it to a fine paste.
    with salt and asafotida. Steam in idly cooker for ten minutes.
    Fry 2 teaspoons of oil in a pan. Add mustard and then the paste
    and keep the stove in sim for half an hour. u will get a usili.

Boil Pasta in water for 5 minutes. add a spoon of giingely oil.
    Take the pasta out and rinse in cold water. Drain the water compeltely.
    Then add it to the paruppu usili. It is very tasty and a different desi dish.

7. spuppala

spuppala Gold IL'ite

Hey Geetha..Where is your photo ma..i meant the dish photo......

8. IL_Admin

IL_Admin Administrator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Dear Spuppala,

We have edited it. You can select any one of the listed four recipes.

9. shameel

shameel Silver IL'ite

Thanks spuppala for your fb ya it tastes yummy too just give a try.

10. spuppala

spuppala Gold IL'ite

Dear Admin,

Thanks for the clarification!