1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Course of momhood: Age old restrictions Vs current times

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by aaroo, Oct 21, 2015.

1. aaroo

aaroo New IL'ite

Hello ladies,

When I sat down feeling hopeless and helpless, I finally remembered I had an Indus ladies account and I was sure to get some help in here!
    Sorry in advance for the long rant :(

I am married into an orthodox south family since 1.5 years.
    Currently I am working part time in a clinic and I am a ayurveda research student.

I am in my early pregnancy and sadly as DH is posted to another city for three months, he is leaving in another week. He cannot cancel this.
    His new office location, the accommodation given and the weather is not comfortable for me, hence I was asked to stay back.

I am not allowed to live by myself in my town and hence having to shift to in-laws place till DH is back.
    In-laws place is about 2 hours of travel from my workplace and my HODs have been considerate enough to permit me to come for the clinical work just twice a week and do the rest of the research assignments as work from home.

Though I was in touch with my gynaec from mothers town since many months, MIL gave strict instructions that till I am sent to moms place for delivery, I should stick to the instructions by the doctor in her town and not my previous doctor.

I had my first doctors visit this weekend and I obediently went to the gynaec preferred by my MIL so that things are more smooth.
    The doc as expected said I am perfectly fine to eat, dress, do what I want as pregnancy is not sickness. DH accompanied me as MIL could not come.

After coming home and reciting the doctors words, I was taken aback by what MIL said.
    She said doctors will say 100 things, but we cant go by their words.
    Age old knowledge has to be followed! Plus she dosent give a damn that I am also from medicine field.