Core java or testing

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by chanchal7, Apr 13, 2010.

1. chanchal7

chanchal7 New IL'ite

Hi friends,

I am a software engineer with almost 4 years of experience.I was working in a MNC but because small baby and husband's onsite I resigned 6 months back.Now my question is as I have only core java experience and nowadays there are so many new java tech. so I am confused to start a career again with core java or I should go towards testing.Is it correct that testing is good option for ladies with kids and all that... I don't want to put lot of efforts in job and studies as my kid also need my time....she is 2 years now...I know its a bit technical question but any senior in related field can show me the correct way...

2. Jenz

Jenz Bronze IL'ite

Hi

One thing is clear....if you are restarting after a gap...you need to update yourself on the latest. So if you want to pursue in java/ j2ee world pls update yourself!

On the other hand, if you choose areas like testing, you might be considered as a fresher and you have to start from scratch....

Given the fact that you want to balance family life....why not try something like training where you could use your realtime experience to teach people. I do not know how the training stuff works in the place where you live...but check out!

Cheers!

3. mstrue

mstrue New IL'ite

White box testing is another option - Since you were in dev before, this will be kinda inline. But not all companies have WB.. even if they have sometimes during layoff, WB are common targets as they can do without WBs.. or dev/QA will cover up for them.

So it is just a 6 mon gap? That should not be a big deal.. Do you still feel so out of loop already?

Yeah, QA is better than dev if you do not want too much pressure. But then QA also will have pressure towards going live/release.. and you may need to put overtime. It depends on the company/project etc. Overall dev is bit hectic. I am into development. JMO.