1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Communication problems with mil -- can I accept help from her?

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by RHariharan, Dec 18, 2010.

1. RHariharan

RHariharan New IL'ite

Dear Everyone,

I am currently having my mil visit. God.. even saying 'mil' seems to make me feel like one of you! I have been reading many posts on having visiting mil and would like to seek advice on where Im going wrong in my approach to learning to live with mil.

I have been married 2 years and am currently studying for the CPA exam. We have been living alone here for the past 2 years.. except occasional visits from my parents (about 3 months in total). Of course, my siblings have visited. I got a masteres degree and was/still am searching for a job. of course -- so Im under "no" stress at all. My mil has constantly been pressurising us to have kids for the past 2 years.. become a sore point enough. Now, she is here for 6 months and is going to assimilate our "way" of life.. and agreed, it not perfect, but since Im under so much pressure... Im shivering in my boots at the prospect of having my life-style x-rayed!

My mil.. is not an evil woman (so many of you might, hopefully, say half the battle is won). But she is far too silent and traditional.. and a bit cunning for my taste.

I have been brought up in a fairly liberal family.. but have never been taught to think that way. e.g. I would wear jeans on a daily basis even in India, and felt most normal. But to my mil, I assume this is like a big deal. I have never been taught to think that removing the mangalasutra is a bad thing... in fact my mother adivsed against such superstition! Moreover, we were taught to not waste time on too much tradition, but to instead focus on reciting prayeres with clarity and great faith. I never do things that my mil would mind (e.g. remove mangalasutra).. but Im assuming that is the tip of the iceberg.