1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

cleaning hard wood floor

Discussion in 'General Discussions - USA & Canada' started by lucky_bandi, Dec 21, 2009.

1. lucky_bandi

lucky_bandi New IL'ite

Hi All,

I recently moved to a new apt whch is having hard wood floor.can you please tell me how to clean it?if it is already discussed plz post the link.Thanks

2. tashidelek2002

tashidelek2002 IL Hall of Fame

Hi Lucky
    I have three levels of hardwood flooring so I have a lot of experience. Hardwood needs special care and water is the enemy of it. Be sure not to leave wet boots etc on it and clean up spills immediately. You can get boot trays in lots of stores like Walmart. When you clean you should use a hardwood floor cleaner and a microfiber mop so that you can wring it out well and just use it dampish. Pledge and Murphys have special cleaners that work well...use one of them and wipe up quickly with the mop. That should be it. You should protect high traffic areas with a throw rug to reduce dirt and scratching.

Enjoy your floors...beautiful and easy to sweep. They also make a warmer house than many other floors.

3. advitha

advitha Silver IL'ite

I have wood floors in my family/dining/kitchen and living rooms. We use dyson animal vacuum cleaner every week to vacuum the floors and use roomba (irobot) to make a quick clean up. Both of these leave the house pretty tidy. Previously I used to use our regular soft type indian broom but it didn't do a great job.

For mopping we use normal cotton stick mop. I use vinegar with little amount of mild hot water to clean/disinfect our floors. Recently we bought hoover wet vacuum. It seem to do a decent job better than hand mopping.

-Uma

4. tashidelek2002

Advitha: