1. Want to get periods immediately before attending a religious event? Check this out for tips...
    Dismiss Notice

Chinese Fried Rice - Version 2

Discussion in 'Indian Diet & Nutrition' started by iswaryadevi, Mar 23, 2011.

1. iswaryadevi

iswaryadevi Platinum IL'ite

Beware!! I am a total amateur at cooking. And if you visited this blog thinking it is a new recipe, I pity you. Really!!!

I am a terrible cook. Actually, I don’t even know A, B, C, in cooking. The only thing I can do confidently without guidance is to boil water. Now you know what a great cook I am, right?

So, one fine day, I decided to test my cooking abilities. I declared that I was going to cook Chinese Fried Rice; not Sambar, not Rasam, but Fried Rice. I mean, wasn't that too much for someone who was just going to try cooking?

My dad threw an exasperated look and escaped saying he had some urgent client meeting that he just remembered. Poor mom, she could not come up with any convincing excuses, as well as she did not want to leave the kitchen all alone to someone like me, so reluctantly accepted.

So where do you think I would have started? Of course, our very own IndusLadies. I opened up IL site and browsed through Chitvish’s forums and found the desired recipe. My tongue started rolling at the sight of the Fried Rice' snap and I took the print out imagining the yummy aroma.

I banned my mom from entering the kitchen for the next two hours. I had to almost shut her out as she kept on pestering to at least stay in the kitchen with me when I cook. But I replied a firm NO and shut the door.

The recipe I had downloaded had instructed me to wash the long grain rice. Now that was a real problem, because I don’t know which rice is long grain rice. My ego did not allow me to call my mom. I just picked the rice which appeared longer (yeah...my brain does work some times, you know) and started the job.