1. Want to be a Positive Parent? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Child care

Discussion in 'Baby Sitting / Day Care' started by shubhavasudevan, Sep 26, 2006.

1. shubhavasudevan

shubhavasudevan Senior IL'ite

Hi everyone
    I thought I will start a new thread related to child care . I am sure now almost all the kids will be going to childcare centres or to some care outside home atleast few days in a week or full time before they start school. It is a common practice in the western countries and is fast catching up in India also.

I have been working in a daycare centre in Canada for a few years and I would like to share my experiences and knowledge with all the mothers. I also welcome suggestions and opinions from all. I amsure this will be a very useful discussion.

To begin with I would like to ask the parents who like to put their kids under care outside their homes- What do you look in a day care centre before you decide upon a particular centre?

Looking forward to your mails

shubha.

2. So Sure

So Sure Senior IL'ite

Safety - first priority

hi Shuba,

My daughter Ananya will be 4 yr this September. She is very shy and reserved. She is attending Day care from when she was 2 yrs old. Her first Day Care in Reston, VA, was very good and safe. They had cameras in the rooms and we could monitor our child on the web anytime. She loved to go there 'coz she could play with other kids. We moved to Houston and she was in a new Daycare. Here, she was bitten by another child 5 times in 2 weeks. I complained to the management all the time and they were all promises but no result. I changed the Day care. She is very safe now. In fact this Day care too has cameras and I can monitor my child any time I want.

To me safety of my child is the first priority. I cannot work peacefully knowing my child may be physically abused. Learning to read, social skills ... all come after safety!