Carry On But Never Hurry Or Worry

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Thyagarajan, Aug 30, 2017.

1. Thyagarajan

This event described better by spouse in her own words reproduced below: (Quote)
    I DID NOT JUMP
    “Fire in I class ladies’ compartment of Kurla -Mankurd train. Few hurt and one admitted in hospital.” It was news item in the morning edition of Times of India. A sudden chill went up my spine. I began brooding over of my previous afternoon.
    It was a day in pre-mobile era the year 1976. Partial solar eclipse supposed to commence around 3 O’clock. I was in erstwhile Bombay. Only few months back, I got transferred from Chennai to Bombay branch of the bank. This was just after my wedding to Rajan.

Being Saturday, It was half day working for me at the bank at Dockyard Road from where I was returning via suburban train to Chembur. As the train halted at in-between stations, I was counting number of stations the train yet to halt before I reach destination Chembur, where my darling would be waiting to pick me.
    I was replaying wonderful and blissful moments that I had enjoyed with him since time he tied the nuptial-knot. He would always have some pleasant surprise for me for the weekend. He used to plan well in advance to ensure that I share a great deal of joy with him in every aspect. Ah.The train was moving unusually in snail’s pace. I felt as if every minute was expanding to an eternity.
    My baby was kicking inside and gynec had forecasted due date around following month end. Now only three more stations, the train will halt before it reaches Chembur. Rajan on his way from his defence office would be waiting at the platform exactly where my compartment would halt.

The train is now speeding up and only one more station left to be halted before it reaches Chembur. Yes, I could see the station written in black in yellow background metal-name board KURLA. The train now halted at Kurla would leave for Chembur. After 5-7 minutes, it is the station that I would alight? I will be holding hand of Rajan. The thought of his rubbing shoulders through the milling crowd, up the foot over-bridge, holding my hand with our fingers entwined, being escorted in OG jeep, brings inexplicable joy. The train now left Kurla picking up speed.

I was brooding over events of morning rush hour before I left for office; and the talk of solar eclipse and that pregnant lady to be protected from exposure to sunlight during all phases of eclipse. My parents and other elders advised me to be at home well before the commencement of eclipse. In the morning itself, flat-owner and his three daughters were competing with each other with my hubby to block the sunlight from entering through the windows of our living cumkitchen cum bedroom.

After a kilometer or so the speeding train came to a screeching halt. Co-passengers, in my ladies’ compartment were loudly discussing what had caused the train to halt. A stout lady stood from my side hurried to the entrance/exit portion of the compartment, peeped out for a while and returned to me telling “bijili cut hogaya. Gaadi abhi nahi nikalayghee. Sub logh gaadi say jump karke jathay hai. My thum ko madhat karoon?”(Power cut. Train won't move. Everyone jumping out of compartment. May I help you?)
    I was yet to become fluent in Hindi, yet I could understand. “There is no power supply and therefor.. This message caused great distress. Someone else was telling that train halted close to Kurla station and by jumping out and walking to other side over the tracks, one can get into Mankurd local train that goes via Chembur which is to start in a few minutes. The lady, who offered me help to jump out of the compartment, got annoyed when I politely declined. The ground between parallel tracks with gravels tracks was about 6 to 7 feet below. She reluctantly left me, muttering something in Marathi.But for me, compartment was vacant in a couple of minutes. I was fearful, yet hopeful that power supply would restore and the journey too. Minute by minute, I was gripped with fear and anxiety;then I reminded myself that I should have positive thoughts which would help baba in the womb & me. I repeatedly chanted slokas which my beloved mother taught me since my schooldays. An hour has gone by.During this halt,I was wondering what Rajan would be doing at the other end. It is past his usual lunch time. He cannot endure hunger. He must have sensed something amiss. By this time, he would have found (!) the reason.
    I was trying to guess what he would do next. Did he know that I am stranded inbetween stations? He would probably ascertain status from Chembur station master. Would he be driving to Kurla? I thought of various options for him. I mentally played positive scenes as shown in movies. I imagined, Rajan sprinting over the wooden sleepers on the curved track between Chembur and Kurla, waving red turbancloth borrowed from a railway coolie! I even spoke to the baby in the womb “baba - everything is fine for your arrival into our world; daddy is coming to pick us up in a jiffy”. As if in response baba was kicking.
    I just heard the whirr of the generator car in adjacent compartment bringing the train to life; what a coincidence. Baba kicked in my stomach and train started kicking; and I could hear movement of pantograph and the hooter sound.But alas! Train was moving backwards and that too slowly. Oh God! What will happen further to compound the situation? But seeing group of urchins and hooligans walking along the track, I told myself, moving backward or forward – it is somewhat safer than train remaining stationary.
    The train back to Kurla station but on to a different platform- not the one from which it had left. Before it halted, numerous passengers rushed into the compartment frightening me; jampacked in a jiffy. I heard the distance voice of Raj, shouting repeatedly “his”own name “Rajan”. My eyes filled with sweet tears. I am sure it was he, my hubby. He shouted his own name so that I would hear and be comfortable at once; and He rushed into the compartment, pushed through crowd, located me, seen glint in my moist eyes, held my right hand, and in a jiffy out from the station to the OG jeep and drove on to Eastern Express High Way.
    My parents and house owner’s family were waiting at the gates and on seeing our arrival shouted in joy. As we entered, the clock in our room just began chiming three times. Yes. It was just commencement of the solar eclipse; and much to the relief of all, I was already into the darkened (!) room. (Unquote)
    Dear IL'ites - What do you think in case she had JUMPED OUT from the compartment.

2. joylokhi

joylokhi Platinum IL'ite

Great narration. Its difficult not to panic and maintain one's calm in such situations, but thats the right thing to do.
    Im sure she knew the risk of jumping from such a height in her condition, and thankfully it all ended well.

3. shyamala1234

She took the right thing.....keeping cool in times of crisis. Of course it must have been difficult in that mental state of mind.
    Great reading.

4. PushpavalliSrinivasan

PushpavalliSrinivasan IL Hall of Fame

Under the cicumstances she had taken the right decision without panicking and she was quite confident that you will definitely come to pick her up.
    Hence there is no need to think what would have happened if she jumped.
    PS

Thyagarajan and kkrish like this.
  5. Thyagarajan

I appreciate the alacrity in response to my thread and would like to thank for your thoughtful exquisite comment. A debate deliberation discussion in your TV Serial thread of few days old, was an interesting read. I trust Godess would continue to bestow robust health to share your opinion advise & ideas for benefit of youngsters in IL'ites. There is no sunset as long as u have wii! Thank you once again.

6. Thyagarajan

Thanks for your response and profound reading that led you to write those beautiful lines. God bless you & your kins.

joylokhi likes this.
  7. Thyagarajan

Thank you for your lovely pensive comment. God bless your kin & you.

8. PushpavalliSrinivasan

PushpavalliSrinivasan IL Hall of Fame

Dear Mr Thyagarajan and Kamala,
    Thanks for liking my reply to the post.
    PS

9. periamma

periamma IL Hall of Fame

Oh what a narration brother. Being calm in such a hard time is very difficult. But her belief in God helped to overcome the situation. Her love for you and your love for her helped more than that.Love is God

10. teenulahari

teenulahari Gold IL'ite

Dear @Tyagarajan Sir,
    Wow! That's a fantastic narration :clap2::clap2:. It's really heart touching:touched:

Teenu:)