Career Tips for Professional Student

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by Rinitha, Sep 3, 2011.

1. Rinitha

Rinitha New IL'ite

Hi,

I am a MCA prefinal year student. I did my schooling( Tamil medium) and UG in a remote area where we used to talk only in Tamil. I have good subject knowledge in my field, but my problem is my communication skill.

For me a professional should be slim,fair, pony tailed hair, stylish, good looking,modern,fluent in English,ect...Unfortunately i am entirely different from these qualification. Even though i make myself with good costumes it doesnt suit because of my overweight. so i couldn't accept myself as a professional.My friends,my school teachers,colg lecturers says that i am a multi talented(know classical music, got many prizes in photography, drawing, crafts, won lot of prizes in state level technical symposiums, talk in Hindi,Malayalam) student and i can shine in future.

My parents sounds good in education & central government employees, they says that i don't have self confidence so that thinking like this. they added that they too were from the same background but they could fluently talk in English and got government job.

My mentors says that i will get very attractive salary in It field. But i am so afraid to enter in IT field. So i have decided to work in a private college in my home town for 4 or 5k salary (even i too dream to work in MNC, going abroad,etc...)

My dear friends, tell me what is my problem? what should i do?

2. devapriya

devapriya IL Hall of Fame

As your parent says, Nothing is your problem except lack in confidence level! Your yardstick of being a professional is totally wrong! I feel that you are good in english though!

A professional should have quiet-calm body language, Tension free face and clear speech! No need of being slim, fair, pony tailed.,etc as you said!