Can anyone guide me as to what course to study please?

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by deepshikha, May 10, 2008.

1. deepshikha

deepshikha Senior IL'ite

Hello Friends, Need guidance from experienced ladies here.
    I did my Masters in English Literature from India. After that was teaching in schools for some time though did not do BEd. Then post marriage I moved to US.
    I have been looking for options to study here such that I may eventually get a Job. I am not considering going into Teaching here because all I can teach is English which might not fetch me enough opportunities in US.
    I need guidance as to what course can I take up in a community college. Since University studies are expensive here I am not thinking about that.
    I have considered options ranging from associates in Nursing to computers and even accounting. But have been unable to come to a decision. I want to do some course in computers because some people told me that it might eventually get me a job. But given that I am from the arts background I have little knowledge of computer science. I need some guidance as to which course and of what duration would be good for me.
    The University in my town also has a certificate course in HRM but I am not sure whether it would do me any good because since I do not have a work permit I would not be able to get any experience even after doing that.
    Please advise me. Thanks for reading through my post.

2. Jenz

Jenz Bronze IL'ite

Hi

How about the option to study Journalism??? Possibly you can put it to use with English Lit. I should admit that I am not well informed about the job-opportunities in US for this field.

Hope this helps.

Cheers
    Jenz

3. Serenity_John

Serenity_John Bronze IL'ite

Hi Deepshika,

I'm not sure what advice to give you considering you don't have work permit yet but I would definitely suggest getting a work permit asap.