Beggars of a Special Kind

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Feb 29, 2012.

Beggars of a Special Kind​

Yesterday evening I was reading a joke about a beggar that came in the SMS, and was smiling when the carpenter working in my office, asked me why I am smiling, and I told him the joke

A beggar asks a person for 10 bucks, so that he can recharge his mobile, bcs he wanted to call his girlfriend. The person remarked “ How times have changed, these days beggars too have girlfriends “
    To which the beggar replied “ Sir, the girlfriend’s expenses made me a beggar “.this was in hindi, so I don’t know how well it has come off in English.

To this, the carpenter said, sir I will tell u a real life thing which came in the papers last year.

A beggar had a wound in his leg, and he went to a doctor, who bandaged him , and this went on for a fortnight, the pain did not decrease nor did the woun d heal. The beggar shouted at the doctor and told him that u are a useless doctor, to which the doctor replied” You need to get operated and that will cost 50,000/- but u are a beggar, and u wont be able to afford the operation”.

The beggar called up his son Chotu and told him to bring a lakh of rupees immediately form the strong box, and within an hour the son was there. Thebeggar told the doctor “ Here is 50,000 for the treatment, get me well fast, and here is another 50,000 /- for yr wife and kids, it seems u need money more than me.

And it seems he asked the doc what he earned , and on knowing 50,000/- said to the doc, listen I beg 2 hours a day, and I make 2,000/-, if I were to work more, iw ould easily make 5000 a day.

So in future , don’t call a beggar a beggar, just ask for yr fees, and let the other person decide.Who are u to judge if the other person has money or not.

Well as I listened to this, I was wondering at the wisdom of the carpenter.Nice chap, he is always humming a bhajan and that too loudly but he is good at his work. He comes at 10 morning, and leaves at 9 pm, and he takes 350 bucks, tell him anything he does, I make sure he gets 5 or 6 cups of tea evreryday, which keeps him going. I introduced him to my friend circle, and now he keeps damn busy all the time, infact now I have to wait for him to be free to come over.

Do u know these beggars have their own uniforms. The ones that they wear to work, I mean beg, are worn daily without washing, but u see some of them in the evenings, new clothes, mobike, glares, and he is a different person . But what gives him away is the change he carries.

There is a roadside fellow whose omlette I love, and we talk when I am there, and he tells me, that when someone gives him change of 20 bucks in 1 ruppe coins, means he is a beggar by work.

In Togo, Africa, my cousin was telling me u have beggars who have a purse, and say u give a 100 buck note to him, u ask for 90/- bucsk back if u want to give 10 bucks,a nd he gives u the change. I guess very soon , the Indian beggars will start this , we are good at aping the west , arnt we ?

Babies are borrowed at 50 bucks for 4 hours , so I heard, for babies brings out the sympathy in us. I just don’t bother with them, and shoo them off. When the kids say , I am hungry, I have tried to give them Tiger biscuits packets, but they don’t want it but cash , which I don’t understand. So I just stay off them.

And with inflation, these days they want a minimum of 2 bucsk, and in Mumbai my brother was saying they want 5 bucsk now, and throw the money back at u if it is less !

And now I read the other day, beggars have the swankiest of the mobiles, and they keep in touch with each other, and inform if a particular place has a lot of rush, so these people rush there.

During the Gujerat earth qualke in 2001, jaipur had no beggars, all left for Gujerat, for people were just coming there for donating and these chaps made merry. How would the donators know that these are not locals, they gave anyway to all and sundry. Even the beggars get opportunities and they make the most of it, like all of us .

Beggars can be choosers these days eh !

Tuffy and Bingo , see how they cuddle up to each other, they fight , they make up, and are pals.

Everything dissolves in Alcholol
    Even a whole Airline !!!!!

Every mother has a good son, so they proclaim.
    But the world’s prettiest and sexiest wife, the neighbor has !!!

Good reasons for having 2 wives and more
    1st Monopoly is broken
    2nd Competition improves the service
    ( Ask Dharmendra ) !!!!!!!

Doctor – when I was a kid, I used to dream of being a Dacoit.
    Patient – Doctor, u are lucky, for how many people do their dreams come true!!!!!

On my computer I typed MARRIED, but it was corrected to MARTYED !
    Then in hindi I typed SHADDI, which was corrected to SHAHID
    Smart phones have gained intelliegence eh !!!

Neta went to a village and told a woman “ ab hum aa gaye hai, ab VIKAS hoga
    The lady told him “ agli baar bhi app jab yahan aye the, tab hbi aap ne yahi kaha tha,
    Lekin MUNNI hui !!!

Best ever quote written in a Cancer Hospital
    Tobacco companies kill their best customers !!!

Advertisment in a paper by a married man
    For sale, wedding Suit, worn only once, BY MISTAKE !!!!!

A father asks his adopted son “ What is the height of laziness?”
    The son replies – What’s more lazier than having an adopted son !!!

11 people like this.

2. Balajee

Beggar with a mobile? They are not an unusual sight in Delhi. On Subramania Bharti Marg near my place there is a beggar who begs at red lights and carries a mobile.and is constantly on it. The saving grace is w are yet to receive SMSes like "Allah k naam pe dede baba Bhagwan ke naam pe dede."

3. Kamalji

Dea r Balaji,

Yes i hope they dont come to know about the sMS schemes so that they send out bulk messages to us to give them money.HAHA

4. mums

mums Platinum IL'ite

Good one Sir.

After reading some of your post i think you are fan of Vijay Malya!!!!!!!!

5. Mindian

dear kamalji,
    maybe some beggars can indeed be choosers.:)
    I have not heard or seen one with a handphone as yet but are people mad to give such beggars money, even if it is a two rupee note?
    As a child, I used to never give any money to those people sitting outside temples and smoking a beedi,but now I cannot help thinking that maybe for some a beedi is more important than food ..anyway I give only to kids and elders and that too only in kind, not cash.:)

6. Kamalji

Dear Mums,

Me and fan of malaya, eh ! Never. i just dont like his arrogance and show of wealth.

Dea r Mindi,

i have seen a few with handsets, earphone in their ears, listening to music and begging.HAHA

kind they dont accept these days, which is sad. they want cash.

8. skmeera

skmeera Silver IL'ite

dear kamalji,'

your post reminded me of an incident i witnessed years ago . was standing in the bus stand ,a woman nearby was begging and ,a girl threw her a 25 paise coin...and guess what .yeah she threw it back at her...and that was not the end she was also cursed for life.I cud feel that girl feel so ashamed . everytime i think of putting alms i am reminded of this.

enjoyed the jokes.

Dear Meera,

Welcome to my posts.Threw back eh ! the gall of the woman to do that and curse too eh ! They dont deserve the sympathy, they make more babies for the more helping hands they have, they will make more money.it is a big racket to play on our sentiments and at least i dont fall for them.

i would rather help someone i know who is needy and too ashamed to ask, and do it quietly, and no i dont want their blessings too, the lord has blessed us enought to be on the giving side and not ion the receiving end.

10. kelly1966

kelly1966 Platinum IL'ite

Kamalji..
    I read the thread yesterday but was a bit busy....
    the story about the beggar and the doc is unbelievable... But I do know for a fact that most of these beggars have huge amount of monies stacked away... and he makes 2000/- for 2 hrs!!!.. wow..
    tuffy and bingo are so cute.. give them both a hug from me.. my Harley is more white..
    jokes were good
    Kerman