1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Baby Sitting for a friend... To do?

Discussion in 'H4 Indian Ladies' started by ProReal, Apr 10, 2010.

1. ProReal

ProReal Senior IL'ite

Hi
    I am currently pregnant and left my job. One of my best friends who lives very close by (she is my college mate) had a baby some 2 months back. She is joining back job to work in the next few days and I offered to take care of her baby if needed.

I have no experience baby sitting and I offered the help as I knew her parents were leaving etc.. I also made it a point to tell her that I knew very little about babies and even if I was to take care she had to train me.

She now says that she would like my help and I really want too. One reason being I am not working, secondly I want to help her out, thirdly I can engage myself for some hours as well. But I am really worried as I do not have experience handling kids ...what if the baby cries non-stop? what if I cannot control his crying? how will I know why he is crying or is uncomfortable etc?

What should I do.. any ideas/advice please

2. SurekhaKrishna

SurekhaKrishna Bronze IL'ite

Hi proreal,
    I used to baby sit for my sister's kids who are above 4 years.
    But when I got pregnant,my sister stopped asking me to baby sit their kids now.The main reason being they may hurt your belly by pushing or fast movement unknowingly.As I am in last trimester,I am feeling so heavy to move for my own daily chores :spin.
    How many weeks along are you now?
    It's a big deal for a pregnant woman to baby sit a kid,in my opinion.
    Even if you have to do it,i feel the presence of your DH or any other friend around you always,will make things easier to u.

Last edited: Apr 13, 2010
    1 person likes this.
  3. Coffeelover

Coffeelover Platinum IL'ite

Congratulations!!!!