aukhay painday lambian rahwaan ishq diyan!

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by cutemonster, Aug 6, 2012.

1. cutemonster

cutemonster Platinum IL'ite

This weekend i was rearranging my wardrobe when i came across a old cd.
    I had somehow forgotten about it and it was lying in the last shelf.
    I am very fond of folk and sufi music and in one of my previous blog i had shared about my love for bulleh shah 's poetry.This cd had a lot of his kalam and kafi's by different artists.
    I know there are not many north indians on IL so many people dont know about bulleh shah but sufi music has somehow become popular , thanks to some musicians who mix sufi with pop and serve us different remixes but the beauty of pure sufi music is just divine .
    sufi music fills my soul with some divine peace and love.
    It was drizzling and the view outside looked really beautiful, darling husband was busy so i put the cd in player and sat beside the window to enjoy the music watching pearl like rain drops falling on the floor in balcony.
    The kalam was aukhey painday lambain rahaan ishq diyaan , it was sung by saiyan zahoor who is a famous sufi and folk singer of pakistan . he does not know how to read and write and mostly sings the kalams of bulleh shah and shah hussein. hearing his voice is like being under a spell , you cant help being moved by the earthiness in his voice . The way he sings truly shows that he is blessed by god and even though coming from a humble background he has rose to the top due to his hardwork and love for sufi poetry.he polished his singing by singing at different shrines may be that why there is so much purity in his singing.he had not produce a record until 2006, when he was nominated for the BBC World Music awards based on word of mouth. He emerged as the "best BBC voice of the year 2006"
    Its my dream to hear him singing live someday:)

I would like to share his aukhey painday lambian rahwaan ishq diyan with you who have interest in sufi music.
    aukhey painday lambian ne rahwan ishq diya
    (difficult journey long are the path of love)
    dard jigar sakhat sazawan ishq diya
    (liver's ache and extreme are the punishment of love)
    phullan wargi jindari to ishq rula chadda
    ( love can make your flower like life cry)
    sare bazar chawe ishq nacha chadda
    ( love can make you dance in the market )
    kakh na chade eh dekh wafavan ishq diya
    ( love will not leave anything for you)
    aukhey painday lambain rahwan ishq diya

sajana bajo zaat safatan ishq diya
    ( without beloved what is the reality of love)
    wakhri koli din te ratan ishq diya
    ( distinct is the identity , days and night of love)

har har dil , har tha wich ishq samaya hai
    (love is everywhere and in everone's heart)
    arsh farsh te ishq ne kadam tikaya hai
    ( on the sky and the earth love has placed its foot)
    chaudhan tabkan andar thawan ishq diya
    ( love is located in 14 heavens )
    aukhey painday...........

ishq di hasti masti yaar mita deve
    ( the reality of love erases the pride my friend)
    agg ishq di dil di dhuni jala deve
    (fire of love burns duality of heart)
    bulleh wang nachawan tara ishq diya
    ( like bulleh shah the strings of love make you dance)
    aukhey........

My soul and heart were filled in divine love while listening to it and i did not notice that dh had come and sat beside me. he is not very good in hindi and this was in punjabi mixed with saraiki , which is spoken by some tribes in pakistani punjab and sindh.
    but he wanted me to playit again and explain the meaning. somehow the lyrics seemed like perfect for our situation. Two souls from totally different backgrounds, religion , north and south mix and bound by the threads of love who have to walk many miles together in these difficult paths of love .

2. Pallavi4me

Pallavi4me Platinum IL'ite

Those are quite meaninful lines cute monster. Thanks for translation.

- Liked these lines very much :)

3. cutemonster

Thanks for the fb pallavi and for the best wishes too:)

4. knbg

knbg Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Beautiful song with beautiful meaning dear Cutie.:thumbsup

But the sweet bond you and your DH share is more beautiful- as I see it in your lovely narration....:2thumbsup:

Rain drops......, sweet melody....... and loved one by your side.......Paradise dear.....:thumbsup

God bless....:)

5. cutemonster

Thank you so much for the lovely fb bhargavi!

6. Saraswathipv

Saraswathipv IL Hall of Fame

cutie,

Beautiful one..So nice that you shared this with us, with the translation.
    Is it available online..I mean do you have the link to it. I would love to hear the voice too.

7. cutemonster

thanks for the fb saraswathipv!
    I am glad you liked it!
    you can see the video which is his original singing here

and here is the BBC award link where he sang same kalam

they have also remixed it which became very popular and is