Attention JAVA Expert ladies!!!!!-Need help with Assignment

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by Friend2011, Mar 21, 2013.

1. Friend2011

Friend2011 Silver IL'ite

Could someone help me to do this assignemnt?? I have created FullDeck playing cards. with random number creation I am able to see the card but when i remove the card from the deck i am getting error message Indexoutofbounds exception.

Last edited: Mar 22, 2013

2. tuffyshri

tuffyshri Gold IL'ite

I am not an expert in Java but know C and C++. Based on that the error message looks like something to do with your dynamic expansion of the array that you are using. The index that is being referred after removing (subtracting) is kind of getting exhausted beyond the lbound of the array. may be you want to check that? Esp. the array's lbound starts from zero and not one - right??. let me know if i am right

3. Friend2011

Friend2011 Silver IL'ite

Thanks tuffy. I am new to programming trying very hard to learn things. I understand I need to reduce the index after removing it which i am doing too. Dont know how to move forward. The problem comes only after i add remove code. Yes u are right arrays start from 0-n.
    for(int x = 0; x < dl-1; ++x){ // int r = ((int)(Math.random() * 100)% cardsRemoved + 1);// System.out.println("random" + r);// myCard.add(deck[r]);// for (int a = 0; a < 1; ++a ){// myDeck.remove(r);
    // cardsRemoved = cardsRemoved-1;}// dl = dl-1;}// System.out.println("MyCard is "+ myCard);

BTW I am also from TamilNadu, love our state soooo much. I am in Canada right now looking forward for the chance to visit TamilNadu.

Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  4. hgulla

hgulla Silver IL'ite