Ask here - The recipes you want from ChitVish

Discussion in 'Ask ChitVish' started by Priya Amarnath, Sep 27, 2005.

1. Oviya

Oviya Silver IL'ite

Chithumma, My dear Adharsha Mangai,

Sorry. I missed something in the features of the first recipe..Does it make sense if you read it this way?

A variety of bonda, crispy outside and soft inside made up of besan flour, its name may be either medhu bonda or medhu pakoda.

I wanted to try vendaikkai dosa just for a change. I'm not sure that I could win hearts(Sweetheart's and LO's) with this recipe. You know chithumma, Sweetheart is so choosy in food habits. For example, he doesn't like upmas, adai, pongal and instant dosas. I don't find the brands of wheat flour over here to be that good, to rule out chapathi and poori, though I occasionally have it in the menu. So, just left with idli and dosa. The bright hope is that they both love vendaikkai. Going to try once when I find fresh ones from farmers' market.

Your Picturesque.

Last edited: Sep 16, 2008
  2. Chitvish

Dear Ms Picturesque,
    From what you write, I guess it is Patnam Bakoda, very famous in Modern Restaurant in Madurai. It seems to be a trade secret :)-() and I am tying various permutations-combinations to arrive at the right texture - but sadly, I am unsuccessful so far![​IMG]
    I will remeber it.

3. Oviya

Oviya Silver IL'ite

Thanks for the reply, Chithumma....

Now that you said the name, I could recall the same...

Being my favourite snack, will be waiting for you post it sometimes...

4. sukan91

sukan91 New IL'ite

Dear chita aunty,

I saw ur recipe for mixed veg pickle. My mom normally does it in a method which does not require cooking the veg. She puts it raw. But we need to refrigerate by my mom's method. how abt ur way? do we hv to refrigerate it? kindly suggest which is better.

Sudha

5. Chitvish

Dear Sudha,
    This pickle can be kept outside & used, if the prportion is correctly followed.

6. nithya1607

nithya1607 Senior IL'ite

Mami,
    What curry or side dish will go well with Kadi + rice? I was looking at pakoda kadi recipe and want to know what accompanies it best.

Nithya

7. Chitvish

Dear Nithya,
    Any vegetable roast
    OR
    Any paruppusili type curry.
    The former is preferable.

8. Chitvish

Re: Chitvish Recipes - Post your comments here

Dear Friends,
    I am leaving on a four-day trip to Singapore, this evening, with my grand daughter Prarthana (Thanu).
    I hope to meet ILites there on Sunday, the 21st. Needless to say, how excited I am, looking forward to meeting them.
    I will be back in the forum on 23rd & will reply all your feedbacks, without fail.
    Take care,

9. samayal

samayal Silver IL'ite

Re: Chitvish Recipes - Post your comments here

Dear Mami,

Enjoy your trip and have fun with our Singapore friends. I have already started missing you.

10. visalamkrishnan

visalamkrishnan Silver IL'ite

Dear mami,
    Namskarams.
    WISH YOU A VERY HAPPY AND SAFE JOURNEY. HAVE A WONDERFUL STAY IN SINGAPORE AND ENJOY YOUR TRIP. WISHES TO YOUR D. DAUGHTER & HER FLY , LOV TO THANU :kiss
    REGARDS
    V.K.:wave