Anyone done/doing Six Sigma Certification?

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by Gayathri47, May 4, 2010.

1. Gayathri47

Gayathri47 Silver IL'ite

Came across "Sig Sigma" through some talks between people, so searched this on the internet.

Ok, so I kind of know that Sig Sigma is some kind of management strategy or something. It has 2 levels of certification - Green Belt and a Black Belt.

But, what I really couldn't find out is that what kind of people is this useful for? Would a certification of this look good on my CV (I am an IT engineer, 3yrs work. exp)?

Is it too difficult to study? Or easy enough.?
    I am planning to take an Ex.MBA degree in a few months/years (depends :bonk) , so would this course be usefull OR rather would this course be taught to me in MBA, so I would end up doing the same thing twice?

And which institute is the best for this? I think I should rather prefer an online course. Would online course become difficult to study as there is only limited teaching support?

Anyone who can help me here? :hide:

2. rosegirl

rosegirl Bronze IL'ite

Hi
    I just completed my Six Sigma Certification.Its a lot of concepts, tool, maths calculations for reducing the number of defects in a business.Its interesting and you can take the certification online or in a class.
    You have search your area for that.

3. Gayathri47

Gayathri47 Silver IL'ite

Thanks rosegirl for replying.
    Is the course too difficult? I am planning to do it online - I think it would becaome become impossible for me to attend the classes.

If you know of a good online course please do let me know. Thanks :thumbsup

4. sweetroses

sweetroses New IL'ite

I did it online, but its a course in our local college that offered it online. Google Six sigma online course and you should get some institutes.