1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

And I was crowned The Best Cook!

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by anukarsha, Apr 24, 2010.

1. anukarsha

anukarsha Gold IL'ite

Hi All!
    For all those who know me personally, the title would seem like a joke. Actually I never enjoyed cooking earlier. We are two brothers and me. Even was bred like a boy. I would play with boys and was quite comfortable in their company than in girls’. During vacations also I would accompany my father to all his meetings and sit in the office as a grown up would. I enjoyed doing all that. If some day my mumma would ask me to come to kitchen and help her, I would go but not enjoy. Slowly and steadily I got hold on business dealings but lacked the finesse of kitchen a girl must have. Time was running very fast. Even before I completed my last semester of MBA, I got married and just after a fortnight appeared for my last exams. Though we had told my then-would-be in-laws that I didn’t know cooking, they co-operated a lot. My MIL taught me everything right from cutting vegetables to making traditional dishes. Over a period of say six months or so, I learnt the very basic cooking. I would get scared by even a thought of inviting somebody for a lunch or dinner. Then I started my business and again came back to square one. I would cook but won’t enjoy cooking. Then kids came into being. This was probably a turning point in my life. Kids won’t like traditional dishes and I didn’t know how to make exotic ones. I was in a perfect soup. Then one day when I took my kids to a big book store, they were busy reading and choosing books for them, I invested some time in browsing through some cook books. Yes, I could find a few which looked quite use friendly, with easy and yummy dishes to make.