1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

An Accountant's Thoughts On the New Year!

Discussion in 'Wednesdays with Varalotti' started by varalotti, Jan 1, 2008.

1. varalotti

varalotti IL Hall of Fame

Most Gracious ILites,

Wish You and Yours a very happy and a prosperous new year. May 2008 and the years to follow bring tidings of peace, harmony, happiness and prosperity to you.

One more year has gone into history never to return. A new year is born and as it is still young and tender, it is full of hopes and promises.

As an accountant I am fascinated with numbers. When I drive my car my eyes will be on the numbers flashing on the odometer. I love to watch the number of kilometers the car has run so far. I used to jump with joy when I see round numbers like 5000, 10000.

My wife used to say, 'What's the big deal? They are just numbers. After 4999, 5000 has to come. '

True. But when you see a round number or a beautiful number like 11111 if you love numbers, you feel special. Change of a year in the calendar is just the same. It's no big deal. Once a year has ended another has to come. It is just a man-made calendar. In a way celebrating new year is like my celebrating beautiful numbers appearing on the car's odometer.

But wait. Beginning of a year can also be an occasion for introspection. When a financial year ends, companies draw up Profit and Loss Accounts and Balance Sheets. They are just conventional forms of looking back on what has happened, focussing mainly on the financial aspects.

We too can draw up our Profit and Loss Accounts and Balance Sheets - not just covering our financial successes and failures but on all aspects of life.

The companies would focus on sales, profits and assets. But our life's balance sheets should focus only on our happiness and fulfilment. If you are happy you are successful. If you are fulfilled you are rich.