1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Ae mee - edhuthathu meenakshi !!

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Bhooma, Aug 19, 2009.

1. Bhooma

Bhooma Bronze IL'ite

AE MEE- as she was popularly referred to in my house …( AE MEE – was the short form for Eduthathu Meenkashi and Kee MEE was Keezathu Meenkashi ) !!

I am talking about those good old days when neighbours were more than just neighbours . Amma at 40 was the oldest and with seven children she was the agony aunt/counselor by default . Even for Mrs Khosla who would talk to Amma in Hindi and English and amma would respond back in her broken English/Hindi.

The small cupboard near the entrance had a couple of nails nailed in… the neighbours going out would hang their keys with a shout .. Mami we are going out !! The necessity to shut the front door during the day never arose .. we were running in and out of the house.

Meenakshi mami was a teacher by profession and they didn’t have any kids yet . She would gather us together , oil our hair and plait it for us. I preferred to have my plaits as close to my ears as possible ( almost hanging like two horns ) She would plait the hair way back. She would take some “eyetex” kajal put a drop of the “chaandu” mix it and put it as a bindi. This would give the “pottu” a blackish red color . and I hated it. “Now go and play” she would shoo us off after she was done with us !

Come rain or sunshine , mami would come in the mornings at 8.30 with a small katori with an urgent enquiry … Mama saaptacha? ( Has mama had his lunch yet ). She would stand near the kitchen entrance waiting for Anna to have the dish she had brought. And as usual Anna would say “ Meenkashi… first class”. She would beam on hearing that and hurry back to her house .