Advice on IT Career - My high end problem!

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by Venonimiss, Mar 30, 2007.

What should I do?

Poll closed Apr 9, 2007.
  1. Stay in my stable job and take care of my 2 year old kid and let my hubby struggle for money

100.0%
  2. Take recriuting training and work on it but keep my job

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Shift to software - Informatica and Sql

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Shift to software - C#, Sharepoint

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Venonimiss

Venonimiss Bronze IL'ite

I have an Masters in Engineering from US. I work in a state govt firm, a very relaxed and stable job, no tensions. My spouse is in a good position in his software firm and makes a better pay than me. We are married 5 years now. Last year we had our baby and we bought our first home in Bay Area. Then started all the hardships. The mortgages are high and the day care etc is expensive it feels like our hands are tied all together. Things won't go smooth with out both the pay checks in the bank every month and by the end of the month, there are no savings! It's like - money comes and money goes. We have some credit card payments, car payments along with our regular bills. Apart from that, time to time, we help parents and siblings from both sides.

Since we have a GC, We are trying to do other stuff like recruiting etc (which needs lot of efforts by the way). But with our regular jobs, we are not able to do anything else. My husband says that if I move to software and make more money - atleast $2000 more per month, he can leave his job and either go for contracting or spend more time on consulting and make money.