1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Accepting Failure

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by anukarsha, Apr 25, 2010.

1. anukarsha

anukarsha Gold IL'ite

Hi All!
    Friends; since my childhood I had dreamt of only one thing- to become a doctor. My dad got me a doctor’s set, which had many more instruments than a normal doctor’s set wud hv. It had many dolls, dressed up as doctors, nurses, patients and all. At the age of mere 5, I would utter the jargons of medicine. I would diagnose, write a prescription, sometimes even operate patients. I was a very successful doctor indeed. But when I appeared for all India CET for medical, I got the shock of my life. I was a loser by just 2 marks. But a loser is a loser, isn’t it?Thats what even I thought. I was depressed like anything. I cut myself from the world, no talking to friends, no social gatherings and all. I would just sit quite in my room and think about my failure. All negative thoughts enveloped me at that time. But my family’s support helped me come out of my depression.
    Actually, I always stood first. In academics, sports, debates, dancing; you name it and I was there. Before this horrifying episode of my life, I had never tasted defeat. Probably that was the reason, I thought my world has stopped. There is a big dark tunnel ahead. Friends, I would like to guard you against such sad feelings. I’ll be happy if you could follow the tips, I m sharing with you all:
    Imbibe a habit of thinking rationally.
    There is nothing called a “winner” and a “Loser”. Who’ll decide-who is a winner and who’s not?
    Compete with yourself. Know your strengths and weaknesses and bring out the best in you.
    Tell your kids that life is a game and in every game somebody loses and somebody wins. So be prepared for every outcome.
    Attention should be paid to the efforts and not the result.