A Crore!

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by rgsrinivasan, Nov 21, 2012.

1. rgsrinivasan

rgsrinivasan IL Hall of Fame

It was the desi version of "Who wants to be a millionaire?" [Kaun Banega Crorepati] and the contestant who was sitting in the hot seat was Naresh. There were only two questions left. And everyone, including the host was tense. Naresh had been wringing his hands once more. He still had two options left, '50:50' and 'Phone A Friend'. There were some who were already sure that he would make it till the end.

The previous week, Uttam, another one from the same place where Naresh was from, won 50 lakhs and withdrew himself, unable to continue. Nobody knew that Naresh and Uttam were thick friends who did their civil services studies together. At some point they had however been bitter enemies, who completely avoided each other. As the 50 lakh question flashed on the screen, Naresh got nervous. For, there were 2 answers out of 4, which he felt were closer. Praying hard, he chose the 50:50 option. Only those two options that he thought were close, remained.

Breathing through his mouth, he picked the one against his gut feel. And was visibly relieved that it was right after all. Now he faced that dreadful question. Was he game or not for the final question. He went ahead. The question was asked. And he was grounded. And completely clueless. At that point he had only one option - 'Phone A Friend'. When the host asked him whom he wanted to call, he asked him to call the second number that he had earlier provided.

It was Uttam's. Uttam was bewildered first. And after the question was told, cried and apologized.

p.s. Though Naresh lost, he was not that worried.

2. Pallavi4me

Pallavi4me Platinum IL'ite

Wah!!!! Thats a gem of stroies RGS. Good one.

The P.S. is just too good

3. rgsrinivasan

Thanks a lot for your appreciation Pallavi. Very happy to receive yours as first. -rgs

4. strangerrr

strangerrr Gold IL'ite

To reconcile, is one the simplest thing to do; but it need a great amount of energy to attempt for it...

Good one Rgs :)

5. rgsrinivasan

Thanks Strangerrr. Happy to be online and respond to you almost immediately. And yes, you are right. -rgs

6. rgsrinivasan

Thanks Queenie3, for your 'like' to this post and other posts of mine too. -rgs

7. nihasvin

nihasvin Platinum IL'ite

Good one RGS!!
    But strangely a pps strikes after reading ur story :bonk :hide:
    "Next day ,Uttam gave Naresh 50 lakhs,he won the previous week.
    After all they are Friends!" :)

8. rgsrinivasan

Thats a nice p.s. as well Nihasvin. Thanks. Coming to it, why don't you start writing stories here?
    -rgs

9. nihasvin

nihasvin Platinum IL'ite

Ha ha ha , I am honored for the invite :)
    I will definitely give a try :)

10. rgsrinivasan

Looking forward to read yours, Nihasvin. Thanks. -rgs