1. Want to be a Positive Parent? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

11 month on cries in her sleep

Discussion in 'Infants' started by thepianist, Mar 31, 2010.

1. thepianist

thepianist Junior IL'ite

Hello everyone, this is my first post on IL. I have a 11 month old daughter who cries in her sleep. Her eyes will be shut tight, but she will either start whimpering and then progress to full out crying, or she will just scream. Its nearly impossible to wake her up during these episodes. She's a very happy child in the day time and rarely cries. I work and my MIL takes care of her while I'm away. She has been doing this night crying since she turned 7-8 months old. Sometimes it doesnt happen for weeks at a time and then it starts again for a few nights continuously. My paed seems clueless about what this is. Can anybody help? It breaks my heart to see her cry like that.

2. shrikala

shrikala Senior IL'ite

hey i have no personal experience to reply to this thread but I talked to one of my friend's family who have a year old baby. babies have dreams itseems and they would smile or giggle while they sleep. maybe your child is getting scared. did her pediatrician already talk about this possibility? what all did you try?

3. Vishalini3

Vishalini3 Silver IL'ite

Pianist, yeah i too think it could be dreams, but have you discussed this with your Pedi?? Since you say it happens from her 7-8months, i am a little worried there. How do you pacify her during those screams? It happens every day? Welcome here :))

4. arthidiva

arthidiva Silver IL'ite

Hi pianist.. you said you are working.. did you go to work around her 7-8 months or around that time? I see some relation there.. (from my experience). how is she in her afternoon naps? so how do you pacify her during such cries in the night?

5. sumanr

sumanr Silver IL'ite

Hi

Welcome to IL.
    My daughter is 6 months and this is happening with her for the past 1-1.5 months.