Peculiar Realty Deal

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Vedhavalli, Feb 4, 2021.

1. Vedhavalli

Vedhavalli Platinum IL'ite

One of desi school mom acquaintance not a friend shared a concern.
    They got a realty deal for a house worth 900k for 600k, catch is someone died there, not a natural one.
    The husband wants the house but lady is hesitant because she is scared, also she doesn't watch horror movies or shows.
    She told us many a times she had hit low BP if she hears a eerie sound.

She asked us if it's okay to go ahead.
    IMO told her go for it, good schools with 9 rating for elementary, middle & high.
    You can do a grhapravesh pooja, Shanti home also sudharshana Homa too. Pls have paintings, plants home decor with bright colors etc.
    She is much hesitant to buy house saying once covid is over she would be alone in house in day time.

Is there any additional pooja, Homa to make her feel better?
    This kind of deal is once a life time in bay area.
    How can we help her

2. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

Is it an isolated house or are there neighbors nearby? You can explain to her but she will need to be convinced on her own. Tell her to join in a job after moving there, then she won’t have to worry about being home alone.
    One option is to buy the house at the cheap price, live there for some time and then sell back at the regular price so she can think of it as an investment opportunity. Unless it is a notorious “bhooth bungalow” these stories tend to fade with time.
    FWIW I am also somewhat superstitious and I’m not sure I would go for a house in this situation even if it was an incredible deal.

Last edited: Feb 4, 2021
  3. Laks09

Laks09 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

When you are buying a house, always look at how hard the seller is working to sell his house. That’s the indicator to the marketability of the house. In a sellers market like we have now where houses are selling for a lot more than list price, if this seller is having so much trouble selling that house that he has to sell it down for 300k, imagine how hard it will be to sell when the market isn’t what it is right now.

KashmirFlower, nuss and shravs3 like this.
  4. Positivity02

Positivity02 Silver IL'ite

House is something which holds a lot of sentimental value in many indian families.
    I understand it's a great deal in bay area to come across but if it had been me I would pass because even if something coincidentally happens my mind would get messed up.

KashmirFlower, nuss and shravs3 like this.
  5. shravs3

shravs3 IL Hall of Fame

Yes I think this would definitely impact her. She is not comfortable with that house and made up her mind.
    And even if nothing is there inside that home such haunted thoughts would never let her live peacefully.
    So better not to force or convince her as she is the one who has to live in the house!

6. Hopikrishnan

Hopikrishnan Platinum IL'ite

When you try to sell a house, there are investors who would make low-ball offers, with quick closing, all paid in cash etc.. These houses will then be resold or rented. If there is no such buyers for a house with a low sale price, retail buyers should keep out of that deal.
    It is one of those "too good to be true" kind of deals.

confused4sure and shravs3 like this.
  7. Anusha2917

Anusha2917 IL Hall of Fame

Honestly reading this itself gives me goosebumps. I don't believe in any ghosts etc. But at the same time wouldn't be comfortable proceeding with any such deal ! Help her by saying her to not proceed.

8. KayKuyil

KayKuyil Silver IL'ite

It’s not about what happened in the house but rather what her beliefs are. As long as she has the fear and belief that some negative vibe will be there, nothing can help alleviate that. Home is supposed to be our safe-space. What’s the point in a great deal if she can’t be completely comfortable in her own home. If it was me, it would be a hard pass. At the same time, the husband should understand completely. There is no point if at a later time, he keeps reminding and regretting about letting the deal go.

OTOH, if they do go ahead and buy, then tell her to not delve into the back story of the home. Do the regular grahapravesham with homam and all. See if they can sage the house. Ask her to pick a hobby to keep her mind busy.

Vedhavalli likes this.
  9. nuss

nuss Platinum IL'ite

There was a similar house on market when we are looking to buy our current house. I fell in love with that house- it was built like a Spanish mansion and was in our price range but when we toured it both my husband and I felt something not right about it. Our agent also found it suspicious that the seller was asking way below market value. It was sold and back to market in two weeks. In two years, it was sold 4-5 times (I was curious and used to look up , don’t know what happened afterwards). A good deal isn’t a deal if the buyer is not happy with the product!

10. Thyagarajan

:hello: @Vedhavalli
    At such a deep discount, I for one would recommend buy such an estate and sell at an opportune moment and make a killing. If demand is so good for such an area, why steep discount? Keep counter questioning.

2, Once ghost is haunting housewife, regardless of presence of others in family all plusses in this offer vanish into thin air, as the stress tolerance level will go haywire eventually. Such persons would eventually lose hard earned monies, savings to specialists and medicines and Shrinkers besides peace of family lost.

3. Weak minded should avoid adventures at all costs venturing to stay in a house believed ghost haunted or haunting & that was site for brutal actions, bloodshed, unnatural deaths.

4. Friends and relatives may distance themselves from visiting a person or persons staying in home that rumoured or believed to be ghost haunted.

5. I notice, You have a noble heart to help friends & acquaintances -
    full of apprehensions. A rare virtue. Seldom, I come across such altruists.

6. I have come across in close circle independent bungalows gone into disuse or turned into a commercial block as some unnatural or preposterous deaths taken place. Some families after death of a family member by suicide tried to continue in the same house performing religious rituals aka poojas, homams etc but felt more negative things they had to encounter and so vacated.

God Bless.

Last edited: Feb 5, 2021
    Vedhavalli, KayKuyil and Anusha2917 like this.