Chandigarh Shows The Way

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Balajee, Apr 22, 2016.

1. Balajee

Sorry Kamalji I beg to differ.; The BCCI is blinded by the revenue generated by IPL and is insensitive to the plight of people. Do you know more water is wasted on a cricket pitch per day than what is taken to Latur through one of those so called Water Trains. BCCI has insensitively offered Rs 5 crores to CM's drought relief fund. I think IPL organisers, including that fat pig Rajeev Shukla must be dropped in a totally waterless desert with that five crores. Let them wash their backsides with that money and drink it.

umaakumar likes this.
  2. KashmirFlower

KashmirFlower IL Hall of Fame

Good to know TN has to have rainwater harvesting compulsory to get sanction of a building. All states should follow thIs rule and also try to apply to existing ones by storing water it to some common place or something

3. Balajee

All states should follow not only laws on water conservation like compulsory rainwater harvesting they should also have compulsory installation of solar panels on every building particularly apartment and office blocks.

KashmirFlower likes this.
  4. KashmirFlower

KashmirFlower IL Hall of Fame

Yes, Sunlight is another free resource which our country is blessed with but wasted, if govt is strict it works. For ex, plastic covers usage , is well controlled in some states

5. umaakumar

umaakumar Finest Post Winner

Look what this kind of an attitude has led Bangalore. According to a study a large part of the city's population may have to be evacuated in a few years because over 50% of the city's water sources are toxic, thanks to effluents including outpourings of washing machines and contamination by sewerage. I think every tap in Bangalore should have a statutory warning. over it. "DRINKING THIS WATER IS INJURIOUS TO HEALTH". The local authorities have done nothing except talk.

Dear Balajee,

Very nicely said. All of us need to be aware of the precarious situation we are in. Drinking water is a big problem in Bangalore. In most places there is no ground water available. Most people buy water in tankers and fill u their sumps. While we look for a flat for rent, they say 24 hours water supply, this means we have to pay heavy maintenance for the association to buy water. There is no rule to say how many borewells can be dug and in what distance from each other, and you can find buildings coming up overnight each having 3 - 4 borewells within their compound. In the last 6 months alone I have seen more than 8 borewells dug in a radius of half a Kilo meter near my house. Rules must be imposed if awareness cannot be created.

6. umaakumar

umaakumar Finest Post Winner

Look what this kind of an attitude has led Bangalore. According to a study a large part of the city's population may have to be evacuated in a few years because over 50% of the city's water sources are toxic, thanks to effluents including outpourings of washing machines and contamination by sewerage. I think every tap in Bangalore should have a statutory warning. over it. "DRINKING THIS WATER IS INJURIOUS TO HEALTH". The local authorities have done nothing except talk.

Dear Balajee,

Very nicely said. All of us need to be aware of the precarious situation we are in. Drinking water is a big problem in Bangalore. In most places there is no ground water available. Most people buy water in tankers and fill u their sumps. While we look for a flat for rent, they say 24 hours water supply, this means we have to pay heavy maintenance for the association to buy water. There is no rule to say how many borewells can be dug and in what distance from each other, and you can find buildings coming up overnight each having 3 - 4 borewells within their compound. In the last 6 months alone I have seen more than 8 borewells dug in a radius of half a Kilo meter near my house. Rules must be imposed if awareness cannot be created.

7. tashidelek2002

tashidelek2002 IL Hall of Fame

My observation is that a LOT of water waste is through just poor quality plumbing. Who ever devised faucets that are tightened with strings had to be an idiot. How many toilets have a constantly running tap beside them? And the drains are a health hazard and not to mention dangerous. The only creatures making good use of them are the mosquitoes who have a freeway in the evening into the house from the connecting drains on the terrace.

8. suryakala

suryakala IL Hall of Fame

Dear @Balajee ,

Chandigarh city is the most beautifully planned city of all modern cities in India. Even twenty years back the water Management in the city using the rain fed Sukhna Lake was excellent. This rule banning washing of cars direct using a pipe from tap water or watering gardens during peak summer was enforced strictly.

India is a country which uses fresh water very carefully,with the per capita daily consumption, one of the lowest in the world.(US and all developed countries consume the rare resource without care as seen from the per capita daily consumption)

Still, there is huge and unimaginable water shortage in most places in India.

The future seems to be bleak.

India has to immediately plan, execute and implement
    "National Integrated Water Management Policy, Planning and Implementation."
    This has so many facets and phases, starting from the Glacier Melting and Monsoon Harvest in Himalayas to linking of rivers up to Tamira Bharani in South. This policy should take into account so many factors like restoration of reservoirs converted into colonies, the ground water utilization, recycling, of savage water for non edible purposes etc, etc.

The people, planners, politicians and administrators are yet to understand the urgency, crisis, and seriousness of the problem. Just in another 10 years, it is going to be chaos and fight and riots- for survival for Indians- for lack of water- if action is not taken - not today- but now.

This is based on the finding of International reports on fresh water Management in various countries.

A timely snippet. Thanks.

9. PushpavalliSrinivasan

PushpavalliSrinivasan IL Hall of Fame

More than one lakh people are suffering due to floods in Assam for the last eight hours. If all the rivers in the country are linked this could be controlled. As the rivers are under the states' control center is unable to do this. Perhaps a law should be passed in parliament to bring the rivers under central control. But politicians will never allow this.
    PS