Holi - felt bad

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by sureshmiyer, Mar 20, 2011.

1. sureshmiyer

sureshmiyer Silver IL'ite

Today, I had to go to nearby Medical shop on emergency for buying Insulin vials, as the stock was over. My father-in-law is a diabetic and his toe is amputed due to to Diabetic Foot last week. I was bombarded with balloons containing dirty water all around. Now, I have to take him to hospital for routine bandaging. He is too scared to venture out. India may have a great culture, but we dont have even the basic decency to respect other's sentiments.
    He could not even sleep yesterday due to loud music all around in the pretext of celebrating Holi

Is this the way to celebrate HOLI?
    Bhuraa to lagaa

2. chitrajaraika

chitrajaraika Platinum IL'ite

very sorry to hear during festival times or any type of celebration.We may facing this inconveneience and pollution or disturbances.Only government and public have to take some proper measures for it.

Their enjoyment wont have to block others privacy.so sad to hear.

What festival we are celebrating wont be a disturbance for others and publics.The people have to understand this first of all

3. SARASVADIVU

SARASVADIVU Silver IL'ite

Hello suresh,

Yeah! it's only here in India that such things happen..one's celebrations should never excxeed the limit..prooving to be a hindrance to senior citizens and new-born babies!!!:rant

(your previous 'avatar' was classic..I wonder why you'd changed it...?)

:cheers
    Saras

4. sureshmiyer

thanks for your comments

wish there is decency in our celebrations

today being a birthday, i just changed my Avatar :)

will return back to the classic one later

suresh

5. sureshmiyer

yes,

we must be sensitive to others feelings too

suresh

6. Malar2301

Malar2301 Gold IL'ite

It is very true Suresh, it happens such a way here. One can celebrate their festivals, but they should see to that they do not hurt or disturb others.

Wish you many more happy returns of the day Suresh!!! :birthday

7. Antu601

Antu601 Senior IL'ite

It is very sad to know that during such festivals like holi people dont care that there can be someone who is sick or old and they dont give the care needed and only for the sake of enjoyment hurt others who r in need of emergency..why dont they think if they had been in their place what would have happened..
    Wish u happy birthday from all the ilites here!!

8. sureshmiyer

hi Malar, thanks

for your comments

suresh

9. sureshmiyer

thanks for your birthday wishes

yes, if only people care about others

suresh

10. nityakalyani

nityakalyani Gold IL'ite

Suresh,
    belated birthday wishes.
    yes in India all this happens - these scens spans across India and one cannot curb them - they will tell saal me ek bar attha hai - bai - chalo masti karo.
    so sad to hear about your FIl- you can have stock bandages at home itself. I have done this treat for my mother.
    Johnson and Johson have these medicated large squares bands.
    then you can buy the mesh gauge big and small
    since Hohnson pads are already sterlised you can use them directly . cut the gauges as you want and steam them in a idli cooker on low flame for 30 minutes and with a scissors store them in an air tight containers.
    you can remove the old bandage and clean it iwth betadine solution. place the johnson pad. take some more betadine in the small gauge bits and place it near the opening and wrap it with the big gauge. the dressing is complete. This was taught to me by Dr. Mohan of MV Diabetics centre - gopalapuram.
    So you can relax and see the doctor when it is utmost emergency. hope this will help you.

thanks for the write up - so sweet to note that sil is taking care of fil