Cakes, Pastries...........

Discussion in 'Recipe Central' started by Nila, Jul 12, 2005.

1. jayasree05

jayasree05 Senior IL'ite

hi all
    this is really a very useful thread, banana bread and eggless choclate cake is really interesting, i have to try that, thankyou all for cake recipes
    jayasree

2. chitkan

chitkan New IL'ite

HI ... This is a new recipe that i ended up creating yesterday- hope you enjoy it...

Apple cake with a zest.

Apples (Grated with skin)- 2 (Medium)
    Self Raising Flour - 2 cups
    Baking Soda - 1/2 tsp
    salt - 1/2 tsp
    Butter (Softened) - 3/4 cup
    Super Fine Sugar - 3/4 cup
    Milkmaid - 4 tbsp
    Lemon Juice - 3 tsp
    Orange & Ginger Marmalade - 5 tbsp
    lemon rind grated - 1
    Milk - 1/3 cup

Preheat oven to 180 degrees

Mix the grated apples, lime juice, lemon rind, orange and ginger marmalade and keep it aside.
    Seive together Self raising flour, baking soda and salt. keep aside
    In a plastic or glass bowl, cream butter and sugar till both look soft and smooth with no granules visible. To this add the milk maid and milk. mix well.
    Fold in the flour mixture. once you do this the mixture should look thick. To this add the apple mixture and fold in. mix well.

Pour the same into a paper lined/ flour dusted tin. and bake at 180 degrees for 40 mins.

Serve hot with Ice cream or just like that.

enjoy
    chitra

3. jyothijyothi

jyothijyothi New IL'ite

dilkush/dilpasand recipe

can u pls give me the dilkush/dilpasand recipe sold in iyengar bakeries

plssssss
    jyothi

4. visala

visala Senior IL'ite

cake decoration

hai friends,
    i am interested in cake decoration,but i could not find the items which r used for it.at present i am in canada(ontario).can u just help me plzzzzzzzzzzzzz.................

5. charuchitthra

charuchitthra Bronze IL'ite

Re: cake decoration

Hi visala,

The cake decoration kits n tools will be available in safeway, superstore, n r walmart too.

u evn get books for designs. The icing sugar n other essences ll also be available there.

CC

6. Swagata

Swagata New IL'ite

Re: dilkush/dilpasand recipe

is this are you looking for???
    Ingredients:

Grated fresh coconut - 2 cups ( I used the shredded coconut in the freezer section in Indian stores)

Sugar - 1 cup

Jaggery or brown sugar - half cup

Cardamom powder - 1 teaspoon

Puff pastry sheets - 1 packet - I used pepperidge farm brand

Method:
    Thaw the puff pastry sheets and the shredded coconut if you are using frozen.
    Prepare the filling:
    Cobine coconut, sugar and jaggery/brown sugar and a tablespoon of water and heat in a heavy bottomed kadai.
    Keep in low to medium heat.
    Keep stirring. You will notice that the consistency will loosen. But, after around 15 minutes, it will start thickening.
    Mix in the cardamom powder.
    Take off from heat when the consistency is thick at the same time a little moist too.
    (Don't wait until all the moisture is absorbed).
    Keep it aside and wait until it comes to room temperature.
    Making the sweet puffs:
    Cut the pastry sheet into three parts. Make use of the folding. Then cut each part into two. There will be totally 6 small rectangles.
    (Keep the unused portion of the pastry sheet in the fridge not in the freezer)
    Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Take a tablespoon of the filling and place it in one side of the rectangle so that you can close the filling.
    Close the filling and seal the sides. A drop of water can be used to seal.
    Use a fork to make a design.
    Repeat this for all the puffs.
    Poke once on the top of each puff to vent.
    Line the six puffs in a non stick baking tray.
    Bake for approximately 25 minutes or until the surface is golden brown.
    Take it out and cool completely before you taste. The filling will be really hot.
    If the puffs are not sealed proplerly, there will be a leak. Discard the leaked filling on the tray.
    Enjoy the sweet and delicious puffs. sprinkle powdered sugar on the puffs before serving.
    Repeat these steps for the remaining pastry sheets and the coconut filling too. Thaw the pastry sheets before proceeding.

7. samayal

samayal Silver IL'ite

Colorful tutti fruti's are adding in dilkush/dilpasand recipe. Thanks swagada

8. sanyogita

sanyogita New IL'ite

Re: Butterless, eggless cake...........

dear all

could anyone of you guide me as to how to make a pastry cake - especially pineapple pastry. the ones we get in monginis and bakers basket from india.

luv sanyogita

9. roopadadia

roopadadia Silver IL'ite

Re: cake decoration

Hi Charu,

Can you give me the names of some interesting books or links if available.

10. kanaka Raghavan

kanaka Raghavan IL Hall of Fame

Guilt free chocolate cake

1/4 cup oil,2 eggs,1tsp vanilla extract,1/4 cup brown sugar,1 cup sweetener,1 cup dahi ,1 and 1/4th cup maida,1 tsp baking powder,1/2 cup cocoa and 1/4 cup hot water.
    Preheat oven to 180 deg.Grease and dust a 9 inch round or square tin maida.
    Beat eggs and oil.Add vanilla,brown sugar,and sweetener.Beat well.Add dahi and sifted maida,baking powder,baking soda and cocoa.Beat till smooth.
    Pour hot water and beat again till smooth.Batter will be thin.Pour into tin and bake for 40 minutes,or till toothpick inserted in centre comes out clean.