Raj Kapoor – the Great Showman

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Kamalji, Dec 16, 2009.

Raj Kapoor – the Great Showman

Seriously i can never understand how can u celebrate the birthday of a dead person.

Day before yesterday, it seems was Raj Kapoor’s Birthday. The news was lousy, all about the Hot Air of Copenhagen, and I put the TV on mute, and put on the Radio.All channels had Raj Kapoor;s songs , a treat really, for I am an old timer, and love those songs, Harsha ;s hair is getting white, but she does not like the old songs, for reasons best known to her, and she thinks I am getting senile, maybe, time will tell if she is right.

I like most things about Raj Kapoor, u ladies may not agree, but that does not bother me one bit,each to their own. I liked his enterprenurship. At the young age of around 23, he bought RK Studious, when most of our youngsters that age, these days are studying, so that they become capable employees of big firms and Multinationals. He had the dream to be a boss, which I like.

Every person has his faults, but RK had many things to be admired about.Here are some of them,

1) Discovering new Talent – He discovered Shanker Jaikishan and right till 71 to Kal Aaj Aur Kal, they gave great music for the RK Banner. He also discovered Shailendra, who used to sell tickets in Super Cinema at <?XML:NAMESPACE PREFIX = ST1 /><ST1:STREET><ST1:ADDRESS>Grant Road</ST1:ADDRESS></ST1:STREET> .Nimmi was another great discovery in Barsaat.
    2) Going Against the Tide – When Joker flopped, it is rumoured even RK studios was pledged. The distributors who were loyal to him since years, he promised them a new movie almost free, so I heard. Bobby was born, with Rishi Kapoor, Dimple, New Singer Shailendra,and Chanchal, new lyrycrst Vithal Bhai Patel.To save his own neck, he could have taken his famous brother Shashi Kapoor, and a more bankable heroine , but he had the guts to make the movie the way he wanted. And he did not cast himself in the movie, he could have taken over Premnath;s role, or Pran’s for himself, and got a good price, but he stuck to his guns, and it was a super duper hit.
    3) Retiring to the background Gracefully – He knew when to leave the limelight, and he did so with Bobby, and continued to direct and make money. Look at the fate of Dev Anand, who keeps coming as a hero still with heroines younger than his great granddaughter, and I think only he himself sees his own movies and no one else.
    4) Raising the Family – He gave good start to his three sons, their first movies with RK Banner, but it is another matter that only Rishi Kapoor succeeded in life.Dev Anand could do nothing for his son Suneil.
    5) Having a Ball – Raj Kapoor was a showman in the true sense.His parties at his cottage in Chembur, are still talked about. Nargis found him repulsive at times, she said he used to be so drunk , he used to wipe his oily hands after eating food with her saree, but still she stuck with him, for she became what she became bs of him and RK Banner Movies. He loved booze, nonveg, was a glutton, loved the females, bustier the better, but that was Raj Kapoor the showman.
    6) Just compare the life RK lived with Morarji Desai (MD). What MD prohibited in Gujerat, RK loved .RK drank whiskey, while MD drank urine, of course his own, for even to this day , I doubt if u can buy human urine anywhere !!! MD was a sparce eater, RK loved food, the nonveg variety. MD was healthy, RK had a host of diseases, but carried on with medicines . MD lived till 100, RK died at 67.

What I learnt from the life of RK is , live life to the fullest, have a ball inlife, do your duties well, uplift your children ,make them on their feet, so they can earn their own living, and I would love to live and die and like Raj Kapoor. I would love to die at 67, having a ball with the babes, and having so much money and glamour, than live to be a 100, drinking urine like MD.

Many wont agree with me, but then we are free to disagree witheach other. Each to their own !!!

Hats off Raj , u are my hero.

Define Birthday

The only day in your life, when u cried, and it made your Mom happy.

Wife – I have made a research on Gaddha’s ( Donkeys), and I have found that he does not look at any other Gaddhi (female donkey) other than his own Gaddhi.
    Husband – No wonder woh Gadha hai.

Wife to Husband – See the breaking news.80 year old marries a woman
    Husband – Sari umar samazdari se nibhayi, akhri mein jake bewakoofi kar li !!!

2. radhavenkatesh

radhavenkatesh Silver IL'ite

we can always celebrate the bdays of all the dead and departed by thinking of them on that day just as we did watching all the channels play Raj kapoor ..
    Great movies we have seen , morever u forgot mukesh guruji without whom raj kapoor would have not got so much recognition last two months back we had mukesh anniversary also when we recollected rk both are remembered at one time
    Sadhanas movies were shown the previous night cant tell you she was looking great greater greatest :)) i decided to buy a whole lot of her movie dvds
    we can never forget raja ki ayegi barat rangeli hogi raat song...
    Dambhar jo udhar moon fere, to Chanda..mein unse pyar karlungi baatein hazar kar lungi.....
    we can never forget raj kapoor honestly...
    his personal life was good and every one has his ways to live
    morarji desai :idea
    oo god
    guruji dont compare both of them

radha

3. Padmini

Padmini IL Hall of Fame

Dear kamalji,
    A good way of honoring a soul who led a remarkable life!!I used to admire him a lot for his immense respect he had for the womenfolk.
    While making Prem Rog, the director pointed out that he enjoyed making the film because it was purposeful and had a strong and definite comment to make. This was essentially a statement and a definition of Indian womanhood and its rightful social status. Lambasting society for 'maltreating' the second sex, Kapoor stated, "We Indians are hypocrites. On the one hand, we eulogise womankind as being noble and great and as the embodiment of motherhood. When we want to give our nation the highest respect, we address it as Bharat Mata (Mother India). But in practical life, we always give our women the worst possible treatment. They are burnt alive. They are treated as slaves. Even pet animals get better treatment in many homes. In no other country does one hear of so many cases of rape and bride burning. The birth of a girl is considered a curse in our families. Why is it so? To me, womankind symbolises love, affection and warmth. Women deserve to be respected and put on a pedestal. They have as much right to happiness as any man. My film is a fight for their right to happiness."
    So no harm is thinking him on his birthday. Thank you for making us also to remember him.
    pad

4. Jpatma

Jpatma Silver IL'ite

KM ji,
    Long time ago you wrote abt RK , i remember then we realize most of us have chembur connection. (i dare not say to OJ san he wrote anti clockwise varma in the blog some time ago).
    We were initially staying in King circle, & my dad used to say Prithiviraj kapoor stays near by.
    As an entertainer RK is fantastic, his movies had a class. As a father he helped his children to get a foothold in movies. What i love abt him is his business sense.
    But i don't want a husband like him, since iam not married to him it doesn't matter to me that he lived his life to the full & he left a legacy for others which is commendable.
    Again thinking of it, most famous guys are like that.
    Thank God my DH did everything in small quantity- bit of drinks- bit of non veg and bit of sports and women? ( i don't know, since after his death no one came to claim the property i assume nothing serious)
    Yes my DH left a legacy, all golf clubs around the place i stay honor him and have trophys under his name.
    Jaya

5. Mindian

Good one kamalji on RK,the showman..yes, even i thought you have already written about him and i even remembered what i wrote in my fb hahaha

but yes he is a good entertainer,shrewd business man and a dutiful father..but thats it ..
    i liked all his movies ...something different and GREAT music..

yes if you were to choose between RK and MD...I agree RK is the better choice hahaha

6. feduptocore

feduptocore Senior IL'ite

Kamalji... Rk and MD in the same blog????? can't even say their names in the same breath .... what different lives... I guess each one to their own...but I truly believe.. "live life king size" .... K

Dear Radha,

You were his herione in Sangam, remember the song, Bol Radha Bol Samgam !:biglaugh:rotflSo naturally u will be partial to her past hero.HAHA

I have a very different mind, no the normal one surely.Why should i want to compare RK with MD, haha.Somehow i see thelifestyle of these two, both famous personalities, and see the vast differences.

Sadhnana was a Sindhi like Me, ehr surname was Shivdasani, and Babita is her cousin.When she first appeared i think in Mere Mehboob, her fringe cut hair caught the fancy of everyone, and even my mom had that during the early sixities as did all the pretty girls.But she drank a lot, partied a lot, and later she lost her charm.Yes she looks ugs these days, i hear.

Thanks for the first and the great comment.Bol Radha Bol eh ! i will continue to tease u always.

Dear Pads,

Yes people say he took advantage of his heriones, but i never heard one herione talk ill of him, even Nargis.When the ladies aer willing to fall into your arms, well where is the harm.And i saw the handsomest Raj Kapoor in Sangam where u see the real dashing fellow.Pink cheeks, well dressed, and the foreign locales, and the lovely direction, i have been all over Europe, but never seen such beauty of locales as i saw in Sangam.A Genius really if ever theere was one.

What a guy.Thanks pads for the lovely FB.

Dear Jaya,

then u an i have a lot of mumbai connections.

i used to stay in Chembur, 11th road, and study in OLPS, where Anil Kapoor also studied, but i dont remember him in school.Maybe he was a few years my junior.

And i sued to go to Khalsa college at King's Circle, and i remember pritiviraj used to stay there, as also another villian KN Singh too.Then we shifted to Worli, and i saw so many film shootings onWorli Sea Face, as we stay bang opposite.Even today u have quite a few shootings but now the craze is not there to see them.

I thought u all must have forgotton aboyut my blog on RK, but i am pleasntly surprised to note, that u and so many otehrs remember it.Wow, thanks.

Jaya i myust say, u are very very witty.No one came to claim any inheritance means that he had no affairs ? :rotfl:drowning:biglaugh:biglaugh:rotfl

what a terrific sense of humour.HAHAHAHAHAHA

And yes keep teh golf clubs, they may come in use, as Mrs.Tiger Woods did too.HAHA, but of course on a robber perhaps.HAHA

Super duper comment.

Dutiful father, but not a husband eh ! :biglaughyes his movies and music who can forget.

Do u know, his background muisic of Awara, has the song Jhooth Bole Kava katte tune , i remember.Most of his old movies had background musics from whioch he made songs in his later movies, that is how brilliant he was.

Yes RK is better, even a s a husband who will wine and dine u, rather than MD, who might want u to drink that !!!!!:drowning:rotfl

Thanks.Regards