Some Special Temples

Discussion in 'Religious places & Spiritual people' started by malspie, Jul 18, 2007.

1. malspie

malspie Platinum IL'ite

Dear freinds my Chennai,

Kindly guide me to the Navagraha Temple in Tamil Nadu. I have gone through the site and have understood that I have to get down at Chennai and move on. I have understood that it is a 3 day tour.. of course I would like to stop and visit the Kashi Vishwanath temple and Kali Temple on the way.

From Chennai I should go to Tanjore or Kumbakonam.. confused.... how long does it take to visit these temples... Are men allowed to wear trourser and shirt in the temple or they have to follow mundu and uthriyam custom.. Women have to wear Sarees or Salwar suits will do....
    My requirement is a non ac car. Can you tell me where should I stay.. I am not looking for any 3* accommodation. Just a proper guest house will do as the whole day would go in travelling. I have understood that there is Vaitheeswaran Koil and it has arragements for stay... do they have room service or domitory type service...
    Very confused... Friends please guide me on how to move from Chennai.... In case I take a flight is there any arragement from anywhere close to airport to tour these temples.....
    Can you all give me step by step guidance.... Which tour operator to contact... where to stay.. i am not well versed with Chennai.....
    With lots of hopes
    Mals

2. Nivedi

Nivedi New IL'ite

Re: Navagraha temple in Tamil Nadu

Mala dear,

I visited the Nava graha temples during 2003. We were around 7 people and we hired a van from Chennai. We spent 3 days in covering all the temples. From Chennai, we drove via Pondicherry, Cuddalore and Chidambaram. You may even choose to take a train from Chennai to Kumbakonam and then hire a cab from there.

You can have Kumbakonam or Mayiladuthurai as your base. The former has a lot of hotels and restaurants to suit different budget levels. Most of the hotels have cab services with well-experienced drivers. All the nine temples are within a radius of 50-60kms from Kumbakonam.

Men are allowed to wear trousers and shirts and women can wear salwar.

Since we were visiting my MIL's native village, we chose Mannargudi as our base on the first day and we visited Thanjavur too. On the second day we had a night halt at Kumbakonam. But I am not able to recollect the name of the hotel.

Tamilnadu Tourism has a package tour covering all the temples. I am not sure about the rates. You can also check NAVA DHARSHAN.

Here's a list of the temples:

Vaitheeswaran koil - Mars(Angarakan)
    Thiruvenkaadu - Mercury (Budan)
    Aalangudi - Jupiter(Guru)
    Kanjanoor - Venus (Shukran)
    Tirunageswaram - Rahu
    Keezhperumpallam - Ketu
    Tingaloor - Moon (Chandran)
    Suryanar Koil - Sun (Suryan)
    Thirunallar - Saturn (Shani)

Regarding the Kashi Viswanath temple and Kali temple that you mentioned, are they in Tamil Nadu?

Nivedi

3. malspie

malspie Platinum IL'ite

Dear Nivedi,

Today this the second time i am sending you this message. I hope this will be thru finally. Network problem.

Your information has been very helpful. Thanks in tons. And thank you a lot to save me the ordeal of a Saree... Wondering how am i going to move around in sarees. Thanks a lot.

Now Kashi Vishwanath Temple is in between the Moon temple and Kumbakonam. Much closer to the Moon temple. And Kali temple called as Kanjanmur temple (i think), is closer to the Sun Temple. Also there is Swamimalai between Kumbakonam and Tanjore. All web browsing my dear... but could not understand where to get down to visit these temples. you have solved my puzzle.

Now can you tell me how is the train service from Chennai to Kumbakonam. Are they local train service or we need to book in advance... i have no clue of this.

Love and regardss
    Mals

4. malspie

malspie Platinum IL'ite

Shaneeshwara n Ayappa Temple in Navi Mumbai

Dear Friends,

I am a resident of Navi Mumbai. And i would like to tell you all there that Navi Mumbai is slowly developing in to a self sufficient Satellite City.
    Well, its no news to anyone If if say traveling is a boring job. To travel far and wide for petty things is not a joke. Many of us may not be aware of the best that our city can give us. Agreed na...

Now let me introduce you all to the Shaneeshwara temple in Navi Mumbai.
    This temple in Nerul and is very famous here. On Saturday' you have thousands of devotees thronging this temple. It is ideally located and is famous for its miracles too. Many devotees who have visited this temple have always got their wishes fulfilled. The temple is well maintained and has its own aura. We also have Lord Ganapathi and Lord Hanuman to wear away our evils. And the Navgraha idols are also installed for the dieties.

Friends, you need not go far away searching for SHANEESHWARA TEMPLE. It is right here in NAVI MUMBAI and in NERUL. There are direct locals from V.T. to Panvel. Nerul is 3rd station from Vashi. Also one can travel from Thane to Sanpada and take another train to Nerul. There are many buses for Nerul from Thane and Vashi. From Neerul Station you can hire a Rickshaw to the temple.

Ayyappa temple is just a stone throw away from Shaneeshwara Temple. Here you have the idols of many gods to whom you can pay your visit.

So now friends, your visit to Shaneeshwara Temple will definitely bless you all the way in life.... It has blessed me... Will bless you too....

Rgds
    Malspie

Last edited: Jul 19, 2007
  5. Shanvy

Hi mals,

Nivedi has given a very detailed answer to your question.

First regarding train service there are trains to kumbakonam from chennai which u can book on indianrailways.com itself. then there is sankara mutt in kumbakonam where u can stay. the mutt authorities will guide you also or else u can take a local tour operators help.

apart from these navagrahas, u have mentioned kashi vishwanath temple that is near kumbakonam. again kali temple i am not sure which one u mean. there is one near therazandur which was worshiped by kamban. then one in kumbakonam it self.

If you want to make the best out of the whole trip. swami malai is worth visiting. There is swetha vinayakar temple (said to made from foam milky ocean /ksheera sagaram or noorai pillaiyar) on the way to swami malai. Then there is pateeswaram durgai which is also very famous. Then nearby itself u have chidambaram natarajar and thillaikali amman. There is very famous garbharakshamibkai. The koothanur temple for saraswathi.

There is a punnai nallur mariamman where the deity is said to be very powerful.

One note of advice. most of the temple close by 12.and open only at 4. get an early start and u can take a rest in the tme in between 12 and 4 and then start again so that u dont lose much.

U have to make a list of the temple you would like to visit and then make a itinerary accordingly.
    Kumbakonam Tourism,Kumbakonam Tamilnadu Tourism in Kumbakonam India

hope it helps.

love,
    shanthi

Last edited: Jul 20, 2007
  6. pavithrasriram

pavithrasriram Bronze IL'ite

Re: Shaneeshwara n Ayappa Temple in Navi Mumbai

hi malspie,
    i have been in the hanuman temple in navi mumbai and heard ayyapa and shaneeshwara temple are quite close to this one....
    will definitely pay a visit next time when i am there!!!!
    but must say that travelling in the local itself would have made people of mumbai strong!!!!!
    pavithra

7. malspie

malspie Platinum IL'ite

Re: Shaneeshwara n Ayappa Temple in Navi Mumbai

Hi pavithra,

We are going to have new designed locals hitting the rail from Aug 2007. But only 56 of them would be up and running. Compared to more than 1000 locals running to date. Anyways better late than never.

Mala

8. vaidehi

vaidehi Silver IL'ite

hi mals,

i am planning to visit thirunallar( navagraha temple) near kumbakonam by this month end, i wanted you to breif me about ur visit to that temple so that it would be useful for us.

Distance how far is Thirunallr from Kumbakonam since i will be staying in kumbakonam and i m planning to visit as many temples from there.

Ur views would be helpful

vaidehi

9. vmur

vmur Silver IL'ite

Dear Vaidehi,

Thirunallar is near Karaikkal (Pondicherry).. If you are going by train, you need to alight at Villupuram and take a bus to Thirunallar. It is not near Kumbakonam.

Have a great Darshan!

Vidya

10. kanaka Raghavan

kanaka Raghavan IL Hall of Fame

Navagrahas are in midst in Devi pattinam.
    In Suchidram Than Malayan temple the Navagrahas are on top of the temple mandapam
    In Thanjavur Brahadeswarar temple the Navagrahas are in the shape of Linga.
    The Navagrahas are in the shape of a snake in Thirumechiyur Lalaithambikai temple.
    Navagrahas are in 3 pillars in Avudayar temple.
    Nine lamps are lit in around Pilliyar patti temple .This signifies Navagrahas.
    In Koniyamman temple in Coimbatore ,you can find the Navagrahas with their wives on their laps.Sun god is in the centre with rest of the grahas around him.