Sivaji

Discussion in 'Movies' started by Huma, Jun 17, 2007.

1. sudhavnarasimhan

sudhavnarasimhan Silver IL'ite

Hi Folks,
    Yeah we too here had a rerun this weekend, and so dared too make a visit...had few indians, but more srilankans......well there was mild whistling etc, but bearable. But i heard from my sis and family that back home too in B'lore there was hooting whistling , even ny ladies.....looks like Rajini is really a entertainer.....it is okay when we can still löisten to dialogues etc, otherwise it does get irritating!
    So much so, wondering at the marketing techniques behind, which have had so many theatres all over the world having his movie.....even in so many states and cities inIndia....Really a phenomenon!:)

2. Abha

Abha Bronze IL'ite

Hey everybody

Well I'm a north indian and do not understand Tamil or any south indian language... I have heard a lot about Rajnikant and how people are crazy about him down there in south, and i also read a lot of articles on how the Sivaji movie has broken all the records all over the world. This made me go and search on the internet, about the storyline of the movie... I know its sort of Prohibited to talk against Rajnikant in south.. and i dont want to take any Panga over here too... but i must say that the storyline didnt impress me at all. So i want to know what exactly is the reason behind the success of the movie.

I'm not saying that Bollywood movies make All the sense in the world... We are quite critical when it comes to any star, be it Amitabh bacchan... in fact nobody approves of him, seeing Nishabd or a lot of CRAP movies that he has done. Many people agree that he is highly overrated... In fact a large portion of North Indians do not approve of movies made by Karan Johar... Kuchh Kuchh Hota Hai, has been criticized time and again for its poor poor Plot and weak characters... kabhi Khushi kabhi gham has also been criticized by protraying larger than life characters and extrmely rich families and Karan johar has been criticized for showing too much Candy Floss in his films...

What I mean to say here is that, altogether its our responsbility to Appreciate good cinema and refrain from popularising movies which do not Entertain, or are made in bad taste...

The keyword here is "Be Rational".

~Abha

3. sudhavnarasimhan

sudhavnarasimhan Silver IL'ite

Hi Abha,

When do we people who watch indian movies turn RATIONAL....the minute we say rational, then any movie will be crap.....
    true Shivaji was hyped a lot and with the fan folllowing this guy seems to be having, he is just turning everything into gold,....i am not a great Rajini fan, but what the heck, i too joined the bandwagon, to see a good entertainer.....and what with such great stalwarts coming together, good cinematography, stunts, and music....not to say the style from this 50 plus or more hero......so why miss joining in the FUN! Of course, the first half is a lot of comedy too, and the story line does touch the same theme of blackmarketeers and the triumph ....and it stuns one to imagine India has money in the hands of a few.....food for thought.
    Now dont think i am patronising this guy...no way, just trying to tell you that marketing skills put together with "i dont know where he got the Charisma", does make a lot of rational headed people go Beserk.....and any way SO WHAT , we can let out hair down now and then na?:wink:

4. Manjureddy

Manjureddy Gold IL'ite

Dear Abha,
    Indian-Movie-going-ritual and "Rationality" are mutually exclusive. Put Logic also along with the latter.
    World Cinema may have progressed from being mere pictures to thought influencing exercises on celluloid, but in hamara Bharath, we like our movies to be paisa vasool Tamashas. Sholay ( a good guys VS bad guys ,guns and dolls movie) will run for 25 years( i have watched it 5 times totally) a Garam Hawa will not find theatres for a decent release. And frankly, did you like Apur Sansar ? I confess I found it meloncholic.

More than in North, Stars in South command a fanatic fan following. We also make them Chief Ministers. This kind of Hero Worship does not need a wonderful story or deep messages or even good acting. Anything goes ! All that matters is that we have fun.
    If Fun turns into headache, we just up and go home.

manjula

(PS: No, it is not prohibited to talk about The Superstar in the South. Everyone always keeps making jokes about his "Style". His last but one movie, BABA was dumped unceremoniously because the Rajini -Fun was missing in it )

5. queenathome

queenathome New IL'ite

HI

I understand where you are coming from, but I think it has more to do with the person..I have been given the impression and maybe sumone can correct me, but I heard that he " helps people without any publicity. When his movie Baba flopped, he returned the distributor's money."
    Also he plans to build a hospital and college as well.

6. Anushiv

Anushiv Senior IL'ite

<TABLE cellSpacing=5 cellPadding=2 width="95%" align=center border=0><TD vAlign=top align=middle width="15%"> <TD vAlign=top align=left width="32%">

Like the movie, this thread too is getting hot!
    I Luv to watch Rajini movies...just for fun sake!
    no doubt his movies are commercial oriented & masala mix...but his movies ( are quite clean compared to the rest!) in every movie, his punching dialogues are really are nice! humorously, he tries to touch sensitive issues, that raises our eyebrows. I think, the language plays a vital role to understand his movies.

7. Abha

Abha Bronze IL'ite

Hi Sudha and Manju

I got what you are saying... rationality and cinema doesn't go hand in hand, that is why movies made like kuchh kuchh hota hai, kabhi khushi kabhi gham are great commercial successes... these movies haven't protrayed a thing, that we are not aware of... they just put shahrukh khan and amitabh bachhan on screen and they know it'll sell itself...

Manju I can make out the whole scene of star worshipping in south and I completely understand the Mania

But I beg to differ... movies like Page 3, Black, Dil chahta hai etc. have changed the cinema forever... the audience has also grown of age... I know Tamil cinema must also have produced many great meaningful films.. and many Bollywood directors have copied them and made big money with those like, Rehna hai tere Dil mein and Sathiya and many more... Bollywood hasnt had a single big hit since 2007 started... except 'Guru'. this shows clearly that audience has matured enough that they wudnt watch any crap or run o'the mill stuff... Audience wants something different... People have even refused to accept the biggest budget movie of this year "jhoom barabar jhoom" as it doesnt strike a chord with anybody, the movie is complete nonsense...

well leaving all this aside, I really appreciate the guy Rajini for being a good human being, and being so very humble, that he returns the distributors money and stuff... thats something none of the Bollywood stars will ever do... Amitabh Bacchan is still making money at this age and rarely do we hear him doing something nice for the society:idontgetit: ...

As long as the films are being made, some are goin to love them and some are goin to criticise them too... sooo its all part of the game..

~Abha

8. puni88

puni88 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Staying in US and waiting for some fun, made us ot watch SHIVAJI movie.
    After long time I was standing in a Q for a movie (for entering the theater),
    people were throwing coins, popcorns etc. Most of the people (men and women) were clapping, whistling. It reminded my collage days. I felt like 10 yrs younger. ANyway we just need good time and fun.
    Viveks jokes were good.
    I liked 'Motte tale Shivaji'.

~Punitha

9. Manjureddy

Manjureddy Gold IL'ite

Dear Abha,

you got a point there. So long as audience keep consuming tripe, the quality of films being made is not going to improve. Page-3 etc. are welcome departures from the beaten track and it is good that they have been accepted. But again the question is: accepted by whom ? Only by the urban discerning audience that go to the multiplex. "BhejaFry" was another nice little film that is reported to have become a hit in cities. These are small budget films, specifically aimed at urban audience and seen only by them.

But cinema here is seen as a trade, not an art. Trade is primarily concerned with economics. The people who pay for the film maker's next meal are not the multiplex audience. It is the great unwashed hoi-polloi , the "mass" or The B&C centre ( as called in the industry); 90% of the revenue comes from the Mass. The typical Mass -person is a middle to lower middleclass wage earner beset with unlimited problems and in dire need of respite - entertainment which he seeks in a cinema hall. What he wants is a character he can identify with, but who has to be a larger than life hero singing songs in switzerland and pulverising 10 people with a single kick. Such a hero provides the fantasy our Mass-man can live vicariously.( Tamil Hero Vijay is a phenomenon exemplifying this) So long as the "Mass" is willing to shell out 25 rupees to feed on this dream, our film makers dont need to exert themselves towards improvement.

It is not that there never were sensible directors giving wholesome fare. Remember Hrishikesh Mukerjee, Basu Bhattacharya and many in other languages too who were able to strike the right balance between "Art" ( too boring)and "commercial"(too crass). They were appreciated and did some business too. But masala films continue to be made and seen. No longlasting, pan-indian improvement in taste since their time !
    Film goers come in all shapes. There are people who dont see movies at all, those that haunt only film festivals hunting down the world's best, discerning ones who pick and choose, bored people who see anything.......but its a dicey trade. Spiciest masalas have bombed at the box office, average products have become jubilee hits. No accounting for tastes and no one can predict the outcome. "Swades"(i liked it) flopped. "Shivaji" with same plotline is creating a mania.
    Like you say,all part of the game !
    :wave
    luv, manjula

PS: If you imagined that I am a rabid "Shivaji"Fan, perish the thought ! I watch Rajinikanth and Jackie Chan for much the same reason I watch Tom&Jerry . :mrgreen:

10. Huma

Huma Silver IL'ite

one of my favourite rajinikant's movie is Narasimha....what a style..ramya khrisnna was acting very good too.