Son's LKG Admission in Chennai

Discussion in 'Schools/Playschools/Daycares' started by jayalakshmig, Feb 15, 2007.

1. Shanvy

Re: opinion of st.brittos academy

FB's please. urgent
    shanthi

2. Hopefloats

Hopefloats New IL'ite

hi shanvy

i have no idea about st.brittos, but my cousin who returned from gulf with a daughter similar to your daughters age, has enrolled her in Good Shepard Convent and she speaks high of the school. She says coaching is very good and it seems they are paying extra attention to her daughter as all this is new to her. So if you are open to schools in other areas till she adjusts, then do consider GSC.

Good luck with your daughters school!

Hopefloats

3. Shanvy

Hi thanks for your fb. and also for your suggestion. one thing, we are trying to put them into chettinad. then st.brittos is a fall back plan. we have been told that the school is ok. the one who had been to the school says the playground is small (which we are not worried.) we do not want to change more schools for my daughter (she has already seen 8 schools.), so want to finalise. (and moreover i think i may have to shell 1lac for both my daughter and son together. :cry: ) we also have sboa as the third option.

thanks a lot,
    shanthi.

4. Minerva

Minerva New IL'ite

Re: about the school admissions in cbse schools

Hi Anandhi
    Bala Vidya Mandir (prev Vidya Mandir Adayar) is oneof the best in Adayar, but admissions will have closed now. However, I suggest you seek an appointment with Mr Nathan the Principal and meet him. He is an excellent person and a thorough professional. The tel no is: 24424445
    I do believe Bala Vidya Mandir has a policy to take in children of parents who are transferred to Chennai even after th formal admission period is done.
    If you live in Adayar, then BVM gives preference to kids in the neighbourhood. If you fail to get admission this year, I suggest you admit your child into a pre school and try next year it is worth it. A number of my friends moved to Adayar just so that they get into BVM!
    Both my kids went to BVM and I can vouch the school is excellent.
    The other school which is fairly good in the CBSE mould are: Sankara Vidyalaya near the Theosophical Society.
    St Michael's is Matriculation is ok as a school, but there are far too many biases due to economic status of parents int hat school I hear
    Minerva

5. himsini

himsini New IL'ite

Re: Please help me - Son's LKG Admission in Chennai

I moved back from Seattle last year in december .. and had a tough time getting my son admitted in lkg.
    I didnt know the procedure for admissions in chennai and was helpless.
    Most of the schools finish issuing applications for kindergarten in late dec/early jan.
    There are mostly no new admissions for UKG. you would have to admit the kid in lkg/pre kg( if they have one).
    Proximity is a very important criterion these days
    Good luck

6. anandhirajagopall

anandhirajagopall New IL'ite

Re: about the school admissions in cbse schools

hi,Minerva
    thanks a lot for your kindly help, and i had been to chennai last week and i have put my daughter in chettinad vidyashram . i heard it is a good school and also it had a prekg session and so and we also enquired Bala Vidya Mandir Adayar, but admissions but it seems that they have only from LKG session ,ok :wave

7. sunitak

sunitak Junior IL'ite

Feed back reg st.britto's is v gud .:)

8. Shanvy

Hi, sunita,

thanks a lot.

love,
    shanthi.

9. sunitak

sunitak Junior IL'ite

Welcome ! all the best !:)

10. vidsam

vidsam New IL'ite

Re: Please help me - Son's LKG Admission in Chennai

hi all,
    am a new member to ILs. have a daughter who has to join school next ye. am also looking into chennai schools.. esp we are looking into psbb -kk nagar. went and met with some parents and got some vaired responses(as expected :) ).. but is there any parent overe here in ILs whose kid study in that school . if so can you give me a feedback on
    1) how the school is academically
    2) how good the kids are getting moulded
    3) in a comparative basis is it better than vidya mandir mylapore.

thanks guys :)
    vidhya